Alchemists Tentacle discovery, what actions does it take for it to draw a potion


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I am just wondering really what action I have to burn for my tentacle to draw a potion from my pack. I thought it would be a free action or a swift action but it doesn't specify anywhere. Can you guys help me out here?


The same action as it would be for a normal hand to do it. So a move action, but potentially longer if your backpack is super packed (IIRC)


I assume it's a move action, same as drawing a potion from your pack with regular hands. It doesn't confer any special bonus here. What it does allow is just holding on to the potion ahead of time, which might be really useful.

The Exchange

Ahh okay thank you guys, I was wondering how it worked. Seems only benefit is holding 3 items at one time.

Liberty's Edge

so a quick question then, if you have 2 hands fighting an enemy, and you have a tentacle, could you initiate full attack with your 2 real hands and have the tentacle grab a potion from your bag or belt to?


If you somehow were able to take a full-attack action and a move action in the same round, yes.

Otherwise, not really. You're still running into the limitation that it's a move action.

Liberty's Edge

if I am fending someone off with say a riot shield, I can still grab a tear gass grenade from my belt with the other hand.

You could say that I only have 2 hands, but I am working to defend/ block and restrain the movements of my subject with the shield, a full attack action if I was to translate it, since I am indeed fully involved with that combat in real life and quickly grabbing something located on my belt or person designed for such immediate use. ( the grenade)

I would think same would apply, since it is a fully functional limb, and all the actions are happening at once. Not simply happening in a weird chronological order like, you fight with your two hands, then after that your 3rd hand grabs said potion. It happens more like while fighting with 2 hands your 3rd grabs a potion. You have 2 limbs engaged in combat and the 3rd limb grabbing a item.

sorry to use more military jargon... but it comes more naturally to me, like again if i am engaging with my M9 Pistol, while firing with my right hand I can immediately grab another magazine with my left hand while continuing to fire with my right. It is because I have a hand free that I can retrieve items. Now if I had 3 hands total, 2 on my rifle the 3rd one could be retrieving a grenade or flare or something.

Though I would have a problem requiring custom armor or clothes to accomodate a 3rd arm... and have to deal with the social stigma of having a 3rd limb/ arm...


Sgt Spectre wrote:
if I am fending someone off with say a riot shield, I can still grab a tear gass grenade from my belt with the other hand.

Standard action: Attack action (shield bash)

Move action: Retrieve a stored item (draw potion)

Sgt Spectre wrote:
all the actions are happening at once. Not simply happening in a weird chronological order like, you fight with your two hands, then after that your 3rd hand grabs said potion.

Pathfinder is turn based. Everything you do happens in chronological order, barring exceptions that interrupt the normal flow of actions. (Ready actions, AoOs, immediate actions)

You draw your sword before you can attack with it. If you kill the orc on your turn, he doesn't get to bite you on his turn. If you hit someone then step away, they have to step up to you before they can hit you back.

Sgt Spectre wrote:
It happens more like while fighting with 2 hands your 3rd grabs a potion. You have 2 limbs engaged in combat and the 3rd limb grabbing a item.

You can certainly fight with two hands and use your third limb to grab something, but that doesn't change what action it is to do each of those things.

You may want to visit the Combat chapter, and see Table: Actions in Combat.

Liberty's Edge

yes but if I am already fighting with two hands, I can decide to use and attack with my idle third hand it would seem to.

Things would be able to happen simultaneously, your actions are logical but going back to my point while fighting with my shield or weapon, I would also if I had a third arm at the same time be drawing a weapon or readying an object. Kind of like if you are charging the enemy while charging it would make sense to lower your lance while riding or simply drawing your sword.


Sgt Spectre wrote:
yes but if I am already fighting with two hands, I can decide to use and attack with my idle third hand it would seem to.

Yes, so long as you have been granted that many attacks.

Tentacle (Ex): "The tentacle does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round"

So if you would normally get two attacks per round, instead of making them both with your two-handed weapon, you could make one of them with that weapon, and the other with your tentacle.

If you make both attacks with your weapon, then you want to attack again with the tentacle, that would be the tentacle granting you an extra attack, which is against the rules.

If you used a full-round action to full-attack, then you want to draw an item with your tentacle, that would be the tentacle granting you an extra action, which is against the rules.

Sgt Spectre wrote:
going back to my point while fighting with my shield or weapon, I would also if I had a third arm at the same time be drawing a weapon or readying an object.

Yes, like I said, that's fine as long as you have the appropriate actions to do so.

Sgt Spectre wrote:
Kind of like if you are charging the enemy while charging it would make sense to lower your lance while riding or simply drawing your sword.

Charge: "If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1."

Liberty's Edge

ok, so more for balance than logic purposes it was implemented like this.
its like your effectively "spending" actions or action points, akin to the video game Fallout 1 and Fallout 2.

as opposed to doing something, you can become effectively action bankrupt because you can only do so many things a turn irregardless of how many limbs you have, in a manner of speaking. While you would be able to do something in a real sense, you can not because you have spent all your allotted actions this turn effectively.

i.e. Your left hand spent all your actions so your right hand gets none.

If you grew an additional, arm, appendage, tentacle or hair it remains immobile or unusuable if you have run out of actions or done actions that consume your entire turn.

and yes I was aware of how the charge rule was written which is why I cited it as an example of simultaneous actions. Running full speed toward your enemy and drawing your sword, as opposed to the "Chronological" order of things where you run say X number of feet draw your sword, and then finish with the Y number of feet left in your charge.


This is the rules forum...OP was asking about rules...reality arguments come WAY TOO OFTEN considering this is a game, I'm not going to start or end any arguments about realism...its a GAME...the RULES of the game say its a move action to retrieve a stored item regardless of whether you have an alchemist with 6 arms (or tentacles)...he can hold 6 items but cannot gain any extra actions with those arms (or tentacles) per the rules

We understand that it doesn't make sense compared to someone shooting an M9 or using a shield and throwing a grenade...its a game meant to have fun, the rules are their for balance and also so that you have to use a little strategy when worrying about your action economy

And as a GM (or if you talk to your GM) you can change those rules for your games if you want, if someone has 6 arms you can sure as hell say they can get an action per arm...but that will slow down the game for everyone that only has 2 arms and lessen the amount of fun they are having since spider-alchemists is getting 6 attacks a round just because he has more arms...they will feel the need to make their characters the same so they do not fall behind

Liberty's Edge

Yup got that much out of the conversation earlier, that it was for balance purposes as stated.

But I was also wondering if there was errata or some sort of caveat that later came out or was posted as kind of like a "good idea fairy" post, to perhaps take this into consideration. It is indeed up to the GM and players as I have been unable to locate anyones suggestions to this in other threads and none have been posted here.


None have been posted here because this is the Rules Questions forum. It is not the Suggestions/House Rules/Homebrew forum. This isn't the place for finding or posting suggestions, house rules, or homebrew modifications.

Liberty's Edge

ah ok, Still new to finding things on the forums. I was hoping that someone would have a suggestion or perhaps a link. Even though on threads sometimes people do offer suggestions, if there is a rules question it is addressed, someone asks a continued question, someone says something constructive into it, A simple the rules states this, not because of logic or whatever but simply because out of game balance HOWEVER if youa re looking for something like *link* would be right up your alley.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemists Tentacle discovery, what actions does it take for it to draw a potion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions