| Christopher Rowe Contributor |
I look forward to this discussion because I have the same question. I will say that my understanding, and my rulings as a GM on this so far, is that a five-foot step is a "non action" (that is, not a move action) but that it can only be taken when no other movement is made during a turn. Note that I say movement, not move action. I've been ruling that move equivalent actions like drawing or sheathing a weapon, retrieving an item, etc, can be made in the same round as a five-foot step and that you still have a standard.
The one I'm really not sure about, though, is standing up from prone, which seems to me to constitute movement. I probably wouldn't allow a five-foot step in the same round as standing up, but I'm willing to be convinced otherwise.
Shfish
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
So long as you don't *move* you are fine...a "move equivlent" action is something you do *instead* of moving...
Standing up from prone falls into the "move equivelent" category so it is fine to 5ft step after a stand up.
But here is a quote from the rules for best result of understanding
"Move
The simplest move action is moving your speed. If you take this kind of move action during your turn, you can't also take a 5-foot step."
So the other move actions, are fine as they are not actually moving..standing up from prone is not movement as well..you haven't moved (moved in game terms means going from 1 square to another..)