Holding an object


Rules Questions

Sczarni

What is entailed in the phrase "you must be holding the (object) to use its abilities"?

Can holding include something in the crook of your arm?

Can I hold more than one thing in my hand (provided I don't swing/shoot it)?

Can it be in a belt loop and I reach down and "hold" it while activating it?

If the belt loop thing is legit, if I have something in my hand, can I still reach down and "hold" it for its use?

I know that in a game of rules not all real life things can be used as a justification for doing something in game...but I know you can do all the things I mentioned in real life...usually not comfortably, usually not delicately, but you can "hold" more than one thing...the question is..where does the game rules stack up on this? As best I could tell they are silent so DM call?


GM call, yes.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Without more context, I would say that you have to have the object in your hand or hands (and be able to manipulate it with your fingers if necessary). That doesn't rule out having something else in your hand(s), but I'd look at each situation separately.
So, basically, what VRMH said.

Sczarni

Holding a meta magic rod. Is not it in your belt but being held by your hand still holding?

Grand Lodge

You mean activating it?

If so, then it must be in your hand.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Holding an object All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions