| Renvale987 |
I have a quick question, something that I just thought of and I'm curious to how it works.
Say you have a fighter and a wizard in adjacent squares. Fighter says when the wizard begins casting I try and smack him with my wizard bane killer +5 sword.
Wizard begins casting a spell, Fighter's readied action goes off. Now, as an immediate action, can the wizard take a five foot step away at an angle (or wherever gets him 10 feet away from the fighter)?
It states in the Core rule book that you can take a five-foot step DURING an action, so therefore you can step away while casting a spell.
I am guessing that is why there is the feet Step Up.
Now, second question, wizard steps away, but began casting defensively, does he have to continue to cast defensively if he is no longer being threatened?
Just wondering about this.
| Renvale987 |
Why would the wizard be able to 5-foot-step as an immediate action? That's definitely not allowed.
But why wouldn't he just 5-foot-step away before he starts casting? That seems like the obvious thing to do, I don't see what the advantage would be of provoking before you use the 5-foot-step.
It specifically says that you can make a five-foot step DURING an action, so during my action of casting my spell, I take a five foot step.
| RumpinRufus |
RumpinRufus wrote:It specifically says that you can make a five-foot step DURING an action, so during my action of casting my spell, I take a five foot step.Why would the wizard be able to 5-foot-step as an immediate action? That's definitely not allowed.
But why wouldn't he just 5-foot-step away before he starts casting? That seems like the obvious thing to do, I don't see what the advantage would be of provoking before you use the 5-foot-step.
You can do that, but you can't do it as an immediate action. An immediate action allows you to declare your action after your opponent declares his and yours still goes off first. Absolutely nothing in the rules allows you to do that with a 5-foot-step.
| Drakkiel |
you can take a 5ft step as part of an action yes...but it has to be declared when you choose to take that action...if you say "i cast fireball" then no...the fighter gets hit pretty AoO on you sorry...if you say "I 5ft step and cast fireball" saying you do both at the same time is really not different then saying them separate IMO because your "turn" in the round is only 6 seconds anyway...then the fighter gets no AoO on you...IF you provoke, you provoke...the only way out of that are feats or class features that allow you to avoid attacks like Parry or the "parry-like" feature of the crane style's "Crane Wing"
| Drakkiel |
well that would depend on what his trigger is as well...if the fighter says "I ready an action to attack the wizard if he casts a spell" then no...since the wizard 5ft steps first he is now out of range of the trigger...but if the fighter says "I ready an action to attack the wizard if he moves" then yes he gets to hit him
of course then again the wizard would have to have some idea that the invisible fighter was actually threatening him to need to 5ft step in the first place...but I was just using that to clarify
| RumpinRufus |
well that would depend on what his trigger is as well...if the fighter says "I ready an action to attack the wizard if he casts a spell" then no...since the wizard 5ft steps first he is now out of range of the trigger...but if the fighter says "I ready an action to attack the wizard if he moves" then yes he gets to hit him
This is not actually true by RAW - you 5-foot-step as part of a readied action. You don't have to declare that you ready to 5-foot-step, because you only have to declare your action, and a 5-foot-step is not an action.
The fighter need only declare "I ready to attack when he starts casting," and if he needs to 5-foot-step to make that attack, he does so as part of the action of attacking.
| Drakkiel |
that is true but...in the scenario I was giving, I was assuming the fighter had moved next to the wizard THEN readied his action to attack, as such he would be unable to make a 5 ft step as part of that action
EDIT: I will learn to be more clear in the full round of actions in my scenarios from now on
| Gauss |
Here are a few scenarios.
Fighter moves next to Wizard and readies an action to smack wizard if he casts.
Wizard takes a 5' step away and states he is casting a spell.
Fighter's readied action goes off. Now fighter must reach wizard. Since he has already moved he cannot take a 5' step and thus fails to reach the wizard in order to attack (note: he may have other options such as lunge).
Fighter starts next to the Wizard and readies an action to smack wizard if he casts.
Wizard takes a 5' step away and states he is casting a spell.
Fighter's readied action goes off, he takes a 5' step towards the wizard and smacks him.
Fighter starts next to the Wizard and readies an action to smack wizard if he casts.
Wizard states he is casting a spell.
Fighter's readied action goes off and he smacks the wizard.
The wizard is NOT allowed to take a 5' step in response to the fighter's readied action. This would be an 'immediate action' and 5' steps are not immediate actions.
Lunge would effectively negate the wizard's 5' step since even after a 5' step the fighter could (barring terrain) reach him when he is making the attack.
Step up would also negate the wizard's 5' step.
| MechE_ |
Lunge would effectively negate the wizard's 5' step since even after a 5' step the fighter could (barring terrain) reach him when he is making the attack.
Are you sure this works...?
Benefit: You can increase the reach of your melee attacks by 5 feet until the end of your turn by taking a –2 penalty to your AC until your next turn. You must decide to use this ability before any attacks are made.
What you are suggesting is the way I WANT lunge to work, but the feat seems to imply that the bonus only lasts until the end of your turn - NOT "your next turn", as the armor penalty lasts. I guess the question then if you are using a readied action is "when is your turn over?" I suppose I could see it working the way you are suggesting based on that, since your turn probably isn't over if you have not taken your readied action.
Either way, as I read it, the Lunge feat does not last any longer than your current turn, which saddens me as I've always wanted to combine it with combat patrol and a reach weapon for lots of fun.
| Gauss |
MechE, When you take a readied action your initiative is moved to just before the initiative of the creature that prompted the readied action. Now your turn begins and you have a pre-defined partial action.
So, the turn in the case of the readied action lasts as long as the readied action.
Example:
On initative 15 Fighter declares a readied action to attack the wizard if the wizard casts a spell.
On initative 10 the Wizard declares he is casting a spell.
Fighter's readied action goes off. His initative is moved to 11. His turn (the readied action) begins. When his readied action is completed so is his turn and the Wizard's turn continues.
You are correct that you cannot make a Lunge attack when it is not your turn. This is why it does not work with Combat Patrol (which is based on Attacks of Opportunity, not Readied actions). Thankfully, it is your turn for the duration of the readied action. :)
- Gauss
| Blakmane |
Once an action has been started, a player or DM can't suddenly decide to change that action just because the situation changed. I had a DM once who threw a caster cleric against the party. At one point I was up in his face and he took a five foot step and started casting. I had the step-up feat and immediately stepped towards him to get an AOO. The DM then decided that the cleric 'continued to move away' instead of 5 foot stepping, giving me the AOO but not the chance to disrupt his spell. I don't need to point out how rage-inducing this kind of behaviour is.
Your 'buddy' has done exactly the same thing. He has already stated that he is casting, which has provoked the AOO. He then can't suddenly go back and say 'wait no I 5 foot step first' after you've begun to resolve the effects of his movement. It doesn't matter how you interpret the "during" wording of 5 foot steps because he never stated he was 5-foot stepping in the first place. You might give some leeway of course if it was an honest mistake and he didn't realise he was provoking an AOO... but from what I understand that was never the claim.
| Drakkiel |
i agree blakmane...the wizard in that case cannot THEN decide to 5ft step out of the AoO...however the fighter COULD 5ft step as part of his readied action since he can take a 5ft step to accomplish it...the wizard would have to say he was 5ft step while or before casting the spell though
I would have had a game ending argument with your GM sir lol...for one if you 5ft step you cannot make any other movement so you would have gotten an AoO anyways if he said his initial intention was to just "move away" without using the withdraw action
| Komoda |
Blakmane, In my opinion, your DM didn't do anything wrong in that situation. It is tricky though. Step up does not allow you to go after a caster like that. The devil is in the details.
Step up allows you to follow the 5-foot step. Caster steps, you step. Then the caster would cast a spell. Of course he could decide not to cast. He can't start casting before you make the step up move.
While the DM probably combined the two with "I 5-foot step and cast" your move comes between the two, so he could absolutely decide not to cast.
As to changing the 5-foot step to a move, that is probably technically not allowed. I would probably charge the character for a move action to move those first 5-feet and then allow them a standard action to finish their turn because of the change in circumstances.
Your mileage may vary.
| RumpinRufus |
Blakmane, In my opinion, your DM didn't do anything wrong in that situation. It is tricky though. Step up does not allow you to go after a caster like that. The devil is in the details.
Step up allows you to follow the 5-foot step. Caster steps, you step. Then the caster would cast a spell. Of course he could decide not to cast. He can't start casting before you make the step up move.
While the DM probably combined the two with "I 5-foot step and cast" your move comes between the two, so he could absolutely decide not to cast.
As to changing the 5-foot step to a move, that is probably technically not allowed. I would probably charge the character for a move action to move those first 5-feet and then allow them a standard action to finish their turn because of the change in circumstances.
Your mileage may vary.
Here's the relevant RAW:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.
So what his GM did was definitely illegal. If the caster can legally finish his declared action (casting,) he must do so, even if circumstances have changed to make it dangerous.
| Komoda |
This is only about Blackmane's post involving Step Up. Readied actions are not listed in his post at all and change everything.
My point is he can't begin casting before you take the 5-foot step.
Caster takes step, that triggers fighters step, he takes it, right then.
Now it goes back to caster to do as he wishes.
And Step-Up is not a readied action.
AND "he continues his actions" is not equal to "he continues his previous actions and is not allowed to change his action no matter what."
Now, the DM can of course change the discussion at the table to make it 100% clear.
DM - Wizard 5' steps.
DM - Does anyone have an interrupting action to affect my next action?
Fighter - I step up
DM - Wizard continues his turn
That is the same as
DM - Wizard 5' steps and casts a spell
Fighter - I step up
DM - OK, then Wizard doesn't cast his spell but continues his turn
IT DOES NOT GO LIKE THIS
DM - Wizard 5' steps.
DM - Wizard casts a spell
Fighter - I step up and attack!
That is not legal. The step up happens BEFORE the wizard ever starts to cast a spell. The wizard could than cast defensively or whatever he wanted to do because he would know the fighter is standing right there before he ever started.
| Gauss |
Komoda is right. As a GM many times I will group a verbal statement together (such as move and attack) when in fact it is two separate actions. If the first action gets interrupted somehow then the second action never occurs and something else can happen. Players do the same thing.
Is it a bit jarring? yes. However, that is how the mechanics of the game work. It is just like declaring a 'full-attack action'. You dont have to do so until your second attack and so if you kill someone on the first attack you can take a move action instead. This is not changing your action since you were never performing a full-attack to begin with.
- Gauss
| bbangerter |
So what his GM did was definitely illegal. If the caster can legally finish his declared action (casting,) he must do so, even if circumstances have changed to make it dangerous.
No - at least not based on this. The step-up doesn't occur because the cleric started to cast. The step-up occurs because the cleric was adjacent to him and took a 5' step to get away from him (the cleric's declared action at this point was to 5' step away from him). Step up now triggers and resolves before anything else happens. The cleric has not started to cast yet. Once the 5' step and resulting step up are resolved the cleric can finish his turn with his remaining standard action.
The RAW way to handle this should have been to leave the cleric standing where he was without an option to move, but still able to use a move action and a standard action to cast spells, retrieve items, etc, just so long as it didn't involve more movement. If you take a 5' step you have already declared you are not going to move for the rest of the round since you cannot both move and take a 5' step in the same round.
| RumpinRufus |
OK, we are now talking about 2 separate things. The original poster was talking about a readied action. A separate discussion is using Step Up when you don't have a readied action.
Readied action:
1) Fighter readies to attack the caster when he casts.
2) Wizard declares he will 5-foot-step away and cast.
3) Fighter's readied action activates, he 5-foot-steps and attacks the caster.
In this case, the wizard cannot choose to do anything but cast after getting hit by the fighter.
Step Up without a readied actions:
1) Wizard 5-foot-steps back.
2) Fighter uses Step Up to move adjacent to the wizard.
3) The wizard now has a move action and a standard action, which he can do with what he will.
The reason that what the original GM did was illegal is because the fighter had a readied action, and after the fighter finishes his readied action the wizard must continue his declared action, if it is still possible.
| Komoda |
I agree with most of your post but I disagree with the fact that the wizard must continue with his declared action. There is nothing that forces him to open himself up to that attack of opportunity and if he did, he can surely cast a different spell.
Again - "he continues his actions" is not equal to "he continues his previous actions and is not allowed to change his action no matter what."
Hmm, now that I read more into it, it is no longer clear to me. While I do agree with the above statement, the rules go on further to describe the ability to interrupt a spell casting during a readied action. I had not realized that was in this section of the rules. It would definitely give credence to your argument or else they could just say, bah, not casting and keep it.
So yes, it does look as if they would have to continue the same action.
Happy Gaming!
| judas 147 |
I have a quick question, something that I just thought of and I'm curious to how it works.
Say you have a fighter and a wizard in adjacent squares. Fighter says when the wizard begins casting I try and smack him with my wizard bane killer +5 sword.
Wizard begins casting a spell, Fighter's readied action goes off. Now, as an immediate action, can the wizard take a five foot step away at an angle (or wherever gets him 10 feet away from the fighter)?
It states in the Core rule book that you can take a five-foot step DURING an action, so therefore you can step away while casting a spell.
I am guessing that is why there is the feet Step Up.
Now, second question, wizard steps away, but began casting defensively, does he have to continue to cast defensively if he is no longer being threatened?
Just wondering about this.
but the fighter was ready for wizard action, so if the wizard moves 5 foot step and cast, then the fighter can charge upon the wizard? because he was waiting for that move at all!!
if they were to an adjacent square, wiz moves 5ft... then the fighter can use his 5 free foot to take 10ft and charge?
| RumpinRufus |
but the fighter was ready for wizard action, so if the wizard moves 5 foot step and cast, then the fighter can charge upon the wizard? because he was waiting for that move at all!!
if they were to an adjacent square, wiz moves 5ft... then the fighter can use his 5 free foot to take 10ft and charge?
How would the fighter charge when it's not his turn? Charging is a full-round action, and you can only ready, move, swift, or free action.
| RumpinRufus |
but he was in ready action!!
Yes but you can't charge as a readied action, unless you have the feat that lets you do that.
Also, sorry that my last comment was not complete or coherent, what it should have said is "you can only ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action."
Avatar-1
|
It's really interesting to see that what was originally "rage-inducing GM behaviour" turned out to be a mistake on the player's part.
Good lesson to be learned here - it's better to clear up the misunderstanding with the line of thinking that you may or may not be wrong, rather than to get angry/blow up at the GM for something you're certain is right without getting some community opinion.
I'll admit I'm not immune to getting upset when this kind of thing happens myself, but it's worth being mindful of.
Skeld
|
judas 147 wrote:but he was in ready action!!Yes but you can't charge as a readied action, unless you have the feat that lets you do that.
Also, sorry that my last comment was not complete or coherent, what it should have said is "you can only ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action."
You can charge as a standard action. The option is a special case of the normal charge.
-Skeld
| RumpinRufus |
It's really interesting to see that what was originally "rage-inducing GM behaviour" turned out to be a mistake on the player's part.
Good lesson to be learned here - it's better to clear up the misunderstanding with the line of thinking that you may or may not be wrong, rather than to get angry/blow up at the GM for something you're certain is right without getting some community opinion.
I'll admit I'm not immune to getting upset when this kind of thing happens myself, but it's worth being mindful of.
The GM was wrong though, and it was rightfully rage-inducing. The GM illegally had the cleric move after he had already 5-foot-stepped. Once he declares a 5-foot-step, he can't "call backsies" and decide he wants to make a move action instead. The player took the Step Up feat specifically for this scenario, and the GM broke the rules in order to nerf an already low-powered feat. Once the player uses Step Up, the cleric doesn't have to cast, but he definitely can't move.
| RumpinRufus |
RumpinRufus wrote:judas 147 wrote:but he was in ready action!!Yes but you can't charge as a readied action, unless you have the feat that lets you do that.
Also, sorry that my last comment was not complete or coherent, what it should have said is "you can only ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action."
You can charge as a standard action. The option is a special case of the normal charge.
-Skeld
Only if you are restricted to only taking a standard action on your turn.
If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.
Skeld
|
Skeld wrote:Only if you are restricted to only taking a standard action on your turn.RumpinRufus wrote:judas 147 wrote:but he was in ready action!!Yes but you can't charge as a readied action, unless you have the feat that lets you do that.
Also, sorry that my last comment was not complete or coherent, what it should have said is "you can only ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action."
You can charge as a standard action. The option is a special case of the normal charge.
-Skeld
Right. Charging as a standard is a special case of the charging rules.
-Skeld
Avatar-1
|
Avatar-1 wrote:The GM was wrong though, and it was rightfully rage-inducing. The GM illegally had the cleric move after he had already 5-foot-stepped. Once he declares a 5-foot-step, he can't "call backsies" and decide he wants to make a move action instead. The player took the Step Up feat specifically for this scenario, and the GM broke the rules in order to nerf an already low-powered feat. Once the player uses Step Up, the cleric doesn't have to cast, but he definitely can't move.It's really interesting to see that what was originally "rage-inducing GM behaviour" turned out to be a mistake on the player's part.
Good lesson to be learned here - it's better to clear up the misunderstanding with the line of thinking that you may or may not be wrong, rather than to get angry/blow up at the GM for something you're certain is right without getting some community opinion.
I'll admit I'm not immune to getting upset when this kind of thing happens myself, but it's worth being mindful of.
That's still up for debate, but you get the gist of what I'm saying. Let's add in the word "possible" mistake on the player's part, in my above post.
You're saying it's illegal, but it's clearly up in the air as to whether the 5ft step can still be considered a move action if the GM is still willing to let the player have his AoO and consider the 5ft step part of a move action.
Komada's order of actions is correct. The question is whether a "5-foot step" free action could also be viewed as part of a move action 5 foot step. I think that's going to be incredibly subjective - and certainly not rageworthy.
The only thing that should be considered is that the GM would allow the player the same courtesy were the roles reversed.
| Drakkiel |
IF THE GM says that the initial 5 ft movement that "WAS" the 5 ft step but is not just going to be normal movement THEN the fighter gets his original AoO for the enemy moving out of a threatened square, if he argues that then he is doing something very illegal by RAW...you cannot 5 ft step AND any other type of movement in a round (not "move action" but actual movement...can still draw a potion or watever) without some sort of special magic or class feature
| Gauss |
The problem with converting a 5' step to a move action (aside from the AoO issue of moving out of a threatened space) is that this is a case of 'oh, you can do that? then I never did it in the first place!'.
Now, if the NPC knew this in advance and the GM simply forgot then I don't mind if a bit of retcon occurs. As a Player and GM I allow quick retcons when the Player is more forgetful than the PC should be. :)
Sometimes I even allow more extensive retcons if something that is significantly game altering occurred that should not have occurred.
But, on the whole, GM retcons should be used sparingly because they are quite disruptive and if it goes against the player it can produce negative reactions.
- Gauss
Avatar-1
|
Correct, you can't 5ft free action + any other type of movement, but that's a different thing.
Changing the plan - during his own turn - from a 5ft step to a movement, because the smaller movement was interrupted by this new step-up realisiation, isn't really completely out of the question, for either the bad guy or the PC.
The 5ft step and the spellcasting aren't the same action, and for all you (or they) know, it was always part of the movement.
It's plausible. The only thing you'd want to make sure of is that your GM is fair about it on both sides if you'd want to do the same thing.
| Drakkiel |
I HAVE to disagree on that part...having the feat step up is SUPPOSED to be a "oh crap" surprise...to give someone a second chance on that in particular is defeating the reason of someone (NPC included) taking the feat...that runs along the lines of someone casting a spell...having a NPC counterspell it then say "oh wait I didnt want to cast that spell"
| Umbranus |
Correct, you can't 5ft free action + any other type of movement, but that's a different thing.
Changing the plan - during his own turn - from a 5ft step to a movement, because the smaller movement was interrupted by this new step-up realisiation, isn't really completely out of the question, for either the bad guy or the PC.
The 5ft step and the spellcasting aren't the same action, and for all you (or they) know, it was always part of the movement.
It's plausible. The only thing you'd want to make sure of is that your GM is fair about it on both sides if you'd want to do the same thing.
But a normal movement would not have triggered step up. As step up has been triggered it can't have been a normal movement.
If the GM had said "Oh wait, it was no 5ft step so no step up" it would be more legal in regards to the rules but even less ok as a direct counter to the PC's feat.
| Gauss |
Avatar-1, nothing in the rules allow you to turn a 5' step into a move action. Either you are taking a 5' step OR you are moving.
While it might make some level of sense to allow this it would create a problem as shown below.
Sequence:
I 5' step
You declare that you step up
In response I turn my 5' step into a move
Ok, we have to now go back to the moment before I 5' step so you can get your attack of opportunity instead.
Allowing this does two things:
1) it partially negates the feat step up (which is a bad thing).
2) It allows anyone to 5' step and then declare it a move thus either forcing a retcon AoO or bypassing the AoO entirely because people forget.
Summary: 5' steps cannot be turned into Move (movement) actions. Nor should they be allowed to.
- Gauss
| Drakkiel |
I understand that Umbranus...but leaving a threatened square provokes an AoO...what I'm trying to say is barring extra class features or something like that if you move 5 ft away from someone with step up and try to cast a spell, either way you will provoke.
If you just move away (not withdraw) then you provoke by leaving the threatened square next to the fighter but he does not get to "step up" with only having the first feat in that chain.
If you 5 ft step then cast, he gets to use step up then when you try to cast you provoke for casting (unless you cast defensively of course) the spell since he would still be threatening you.
The OPs question was about 5ft stepping as an immediate action, no you cannot 5ft step as an immediate action unless you are under an effect, class feature, or magic item that allows it.
Step Up is so that on your opponents turn if they are next to you and try to 5ft step back to avoid being threatened by you, you get to say "I don't think so" and step with them so you still threaten
As for the "second" question, if you 5ft step and cast, and the fighter is no longer next to you (doesn't have step up) then no...you don't have to cast defensively since you are no longer threatened
For ME (meaning in my game), Step Up is something I would give a NPC to surprise my caster, and since you have to declare that you are casting defensively if you say I 5ft step and cast (since TECHNICALLY everything in a round is suppose to happen during the same 6 seconds) and then the fighter "stepped up" next to you, I wouldn't allow you to then say you were casting defensively and maybe from then on you would be much more careful when trying to do a 5ft step and cast without thinking something could still happen. Again that is FOR ME if I were GMing since I believe that you can be honest with yourself and say that you didn't expect the fighter to do that lol
| Gauss |
Drakkiel: While I realize you were saying 'for you as GM' the order is clear. 5'step (and step up) occur first. THEN the declaration that the wizard is casting a spell (and the decision to cast defensively) occur.
As I posted earlier, people combine them for simplicity sake but they really are sequential actions.
- Gauss
| Drakkiel |
Yes I know...you didn't even need to point it out AGAIN lol...I know how its suppose to work...which is why I tried to explicitly state the fact that it would be that way in MY game...but I appreciate the fact that you at least realized what I was saying :) so you deserve the kirby dance
<(")> <("<) <("^) <(")> (>")> (^")> <(")>
EDIT: Also that would be for the initial time they (my players) encountered an enemy that could do that, with the hope that they would learn from the experience and be more cautious about there actions in combat when threatened :)
Diego Rossi
|
RumpinRufus wrote:judas 147 wrote:but he was in ready action!!Yes but you can't charge as a readied action, unless you have the feat that lets you do that.
Also, sorry that my last comment was not complete or coherent, what it should have said is "you can only ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action."
You can charge as a standard action. The option is a special case of the normal charge.
-Skeld
No, you can charge if you have only a partial action, i.e. you are staggered like a zombie or during a surprise round, but if you have a full round of actions you must use both a full round action to charge.
For ME (meaning in my game), Step Up is something I would give a NPC to surprise my caster, and since you have to declare that you are casting defensively if you say I 5ft step and cast (since TECHNICALLY everything in a round is suppose to happen during the same 6 seconds) and then the fighter "stepped up" next to you, I wouldn't allow you to then say you were casting defensively and maybe from then on you would be much more careful when trying to do a 5ft step and cast without thinking something could still happen. Again that is FOR ME if I were GMing since I believe that you can be honest with yourself and say that you didn't expect the fighter to do that lol
I realize you say "For ME", but it seem a very bad idea.
You really stop PC and NPC from reacting to what happen in a round because it is only 6 seconds?To be consistent your reasoning has to be applied to every kind of action/reaction combo in the game, so if the wizard can't change his action because the fighter has moved close to him the fighter with the ready action to strike the casting wizard can't react to him taking a 5' step before casting, as he would be reacting to a minute action of the wizard. So he would have to make his attack from his initial position, without following the wizard.
There are probably thousand of situations in game where applying that ruling would generate problems
If instead you apply that only to spellcaster, why are you nerfing the ability to react of a specific group only?
Skeld
|
Skeld wrote:No, you can charge if you have only a partial action, i.e. you are staggered like a zombie or during a surprise round, but if you have a full round of actions you must use both a full round action to charge.RumpinRufus wrote:judas 147 wrote:but he was in ready action!!Yes but you can't charge as a readied action, unless you have the feat that lets you do that.
Also, sorry that my last comment was not complete or coherent, what it should have said is "you can only ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action."
You can charge as a standard action. The option is a special case of the normal charge.
-Skeld
Heh. Like I said, Charging as a Standard Action is a special case under the rules for Charging (I just didn't lay out the circumstances under which you can use the special case). :P
-Skeld