Clarify the Fetchlings


Rules Questions


Hello all, reading the Fetchling Spell like habilities in the Advanced Race Guide, I notice that it explain "A fetchling's caster level is equal to his total hit dice". Usually, for spell like habilities, the sentence to explain the DC refer to the power (For exemple gnome magic : "The DC for these spells is equal to 10+spell level+gnome charisma modifier" or Dhampir : "The caster level for this hability equals the dhampir's class level"). Does this mean when you bi-class a war / mage the Fetchlings have their hit dice as caster level?


Only for their spell-like abilities.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Also, with the exception of alternate racial traits, the SLAs don't need saves, IIRC, so it might have been an oversight.

Grand Lodge

What is a bi-class a war / mage?

Pathfinder is pretty LBGT friendly, so I wouldn't concern myself with it.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

I beleive he meant is when taking multiclasses, like say fighter(war)/mage(wizard) to get eldrich knight, do all the hit dice apply?


Yes, your total HD apply as CL. This is how it should be for any SLA granted by race and not class, not sure why it isn't so in all cases.


Edit: actually, it's written only under the Spell like abilities powers part.
Therfore I guess it only applies to said spell like abilities, and not for his overall caster level.
If it was a distinct entry, it would be awesome. As written, it's just icing on his spell like abilities'cake


Yes, I was talking about multiclass. But if you're sure that Fetchling's hit dice as caster level only apply to spell like habilities, I have nothing more to ask, thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarify the Fetchlings All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions