| Trueshots |
If I have a 8 monk/5 Wiz can the following happen:
can I flurry of blows with and unarmed attach and use the spells chill touch, shocking touch, elemental touch, or vampiric touch, etc.?
chill touch for example says 1x per caster level that would be 5x
So could i flurry with the 4 attacks(from monk 8) on the 1st round and then use the remaining one on the 2nd round?
Also would i get my normal melee damage plus what ever spell damage?
Thanks!
| Grick |
can I flurry of blows with and unarmed attach and use the spells chill touch, shocking touch, elemental touch, or vampiric touch, etc.?
If you're holding the charge of a touch spell, you can use an unarmed strike (or natural weapon) to deliver it. If you choose to do so, you make that attack like normal, targeting normal AC not touch AC, and if you hit, you deal normal damage as well as the effect of the spell.
Holding the Charge: "If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge."
Elemental Touch is not a touch spell, so this not applicable. It has it's own rules about being delivered via unarmed strike.
For shocking grasp or vampiric touch, the first successful unarmed strike you make after holding the charge can deliver the spell effect in addition to your unarmed strike damage.
For chill touch and spells like it, by RAW only you would deliver the spell effect with each hit you make up to the number of touches granted by the spell.
However, James Jacobs posted (here) that multi-touch spells like chill touch stop functioning as touch spells after the first successful hit. Using this interpretation, after the first unarmed strike hits and delivers the spell effect, the spell ends, you're no longer holding a charge, and any remaining touches get converted into a special ability. Since you're not holding the charge, the rules for holding the charge don't apply, and you can't deliver the effect with an unarmed strike or natural attack, and it doesn't dissipate if you cast another spell. There's a FAQ request post here if you would like an official response to that.
Blackfoot
|
Trueshots wrote:can I flurry of blows with and unarmed attach and use the spells chill touch, shocking touch, elemental touch, or vampiric touch, etc.?If you're holding the charge of a touch spell, you can use an unarmed strike (or natural weapon) to deliver it. If you choose to do so, you make that attack like normal, targeting normal AC not touch AC, and if you hit, you deal normal damage as well as the effect of the spell.
For chill touch and spells like it, by RAW only you would deliver the spell effect with each hit you make up to the number of touches granted by the spell.
However, James Jacobs posted (here) that multi-touch spells like chill touch stop functioning as touch spells after the first successful hit. Using this interpretation, after the first unarmed strike hits and delivers the spell effect, the spell ends, you're no longer holding a charge, and any remaining touches get converted into a special ability. Since you're not holding the charge, the rules for holding the charge don't apply, and you can't deliver the effect with an unarmed strike or natural attack, and it doesn't dissipate if you cast another spell. There's a FAQ request post here if you would like an official response to that.
Seems like you are misinterpreting what he (Mr. Jacobs) is saying in that post.
There's no discussion about 'special ability' or anything of the kind.| Grick |
Seems like you are misinterpreting what he (Mr. Jacobs) is saying in that post.
There's no discussion about 'special ability' or anything of the kind.
JJ: "Chill touch is a weird spell. The touch attacks it grants do not function as "held charges." They don't disappear if you cast another spell, and the spell is pretty vague on how long the effects last—in theory, you could cast the spell on a Tuesday and still have some touches left over on Friday, for example, as long as you haven't made more touches than your level. Re-casting the spell when you still have charges left doesn't add to the existing charges—it merely resets your total available touches to its maximum."
If you have a special ability which lets you make a touch attack, you can't do all the things with it that you could with a spell, like deliver it with an unarmed strike or natural attack. Casting a spell doesn't make it go away. The rules for holding the charge don't apply because you're not holding the charge.
All of which is exactly like what James is saying happens with chill touch.
Since casters very rarely deliver touch spells with unarmed strikes or natural weapons, his ruling made these types of spells VASTLY more powerful. Being able to stack up multiple effects to be delivered on a single attack is very strong.
Blackfoot
|
Blackfoot wrote:Seems like you are misinterpreting what he (Mr. Jacobs) is saying in that post.
There's no discussion about 'special ability' or anything of the kind.JJ: "Chill touch is a weird spell. The touch attacks it grants do not function as "held charges." They don't disappear if you cast another spell, and the spell is pretty vague on how long the effects last—in theory, you could cast the spell on a Tuesday and still have some touches left over on Friday, for example, as long as you haven't made more touches than your level. Re-casting the spell when you still have charges left doesn't add to the existing charges—it merely resets your total available touches to its maximum."
If you have a special ability which lets you make a touch attack, you can't do all the things with it that you could with a spell, like deliver it with an unarmed strike or natural attack. Casting a spell doesn't make it go away. The rules for holding the charge don't apply because you're not holding the charge.
All of which is exactly like what James is saying happens with chill touch.
Since casters very rarely deliver touch spells with unarmed strikes or natural weapons, his ruling made these types of spells VASTLY more powerful. Being able to stack up multiple effects to be delivered on a single attack is very strong.
It still seems like you are reading your own viewpoint into what is written there.