
Rafim |

I start now a campaing and i'm the only caster. We miss divine caster too. I'm thinking about a Razmiran Priest.. and i've a question for you.
Razmiran Channel (Su): At 9th level, the Razmiran
priest can use his own magic to power spell completion
and spell trigger items that use divine spells.
and
Activation: Staves use the spell trigger activation
method
So i can use the Razmiran Channel with a staff with divine spells at +1 spell level.
Rules for a staff creation:
Creating Staves
To create a magic staff, a character needs a supply of
materials, the most obvious being a staff or the pieces of the
staff to be assembled.
The materials cost is subsumed in the cost of creation: 400
gp × the level of the highest-level spell × the level of the caster,
plus 75% of the value of the next most costly ability (300 gp × the
level of the spell × the level of the caster), plus 1/2 the value of
any other abilities (200 gp × the level of the spell × the level of
the caster). Staves are always fully charged (10 charges)
when created.
If desired, a spell can be placed into the staff at less than the
normal cost, but then activating that particular spell drains
additional charges from the staff. Divide the cost of the spell
by the number of charges it consumes to determine its final
price. Note that this does not change the order in which the
spells are priced (the highest level spell is still priced first,
even if it requires more than one charge to activate). The caster
level of all spells in a staff must be the same, and no staff can
have a caster level of less than 8th, even if all the spells in the
staff are low-level spells.
The creator must have prepared the spells to be stored (or
must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and
must provide any focus the spells require as well as material
component costs sufficient to activate the spell 50 times
(divide this amount by the number of charges one use of the
spell expends). Material components are consumed when he
begins working, but focuses are not. (A focus used in creating
a staff can be reused.)
So can I ask a divine caster to create a staff with a lot of divine spells asking him to setup the charge cost to 10 charge for each spell and so dividing the cost 10 times??
example:
I ask for a staff with:
Divine Power (4th Lvl spell) CL8
Silence (2nd Lvl spell) CL8
->Divine Power 400 x 4 x 8 = 12800
at the cost of 10 charges 12800 / 10 = 1280??
->Silence 300 x 2 x 8 = 4800
at the cost of 10 charges 4800 / 10 = 480??
All other spells at 200 x spellLevel x casterlevel (min.8).
Using razmiran channel preserve all charges when casting a spell from a staff so it's the same thing if i use a 1 charge spell or 10 isnt'it??

HaraldKlak |

Using razmiran channel preserve all charges when casting a spell from a staff so it's the same thing if i use a 1 charge spell or 10 isnt'it??
While the rules does not expressly forbid it (or permit it, since it doesn't mention multiple charge use), I don't think I would allow it.
The ability has an effect. I can't really find anything in the Razmiran Priest that suggest that the intention is for characters to be able to by staffs at 1/10 market price.
From a strict RAW perspective, it seems like a loophole. However that doesn't mean it should be done at an actual table.

Rafim |

Interesting!
In this way all other spells added to the staff cost
200 x SpellLevel x CasterLevel (min.8)
In this way i can add a first level spell for
200 x 1 x 8 / 10 = 160 gold!!!
Amazing!!
So whenever you want a divine spell you can add it to the staff
1 Level = 160 gold
2 Level = 320 gold
3 Level = 480 gold
4 Level = 640 gold
5 Level = 1000 gold
and so on.. i've another question about creating staves:
I come back to my example of a staff created with two spells:
Divine Power (4th lvl) and Silence (2nd lvl). I pay the first 400 ecc ecc.. the second 300.. but if i decide to add a newspell to a staff, can I add an higher level spell or i'm obliged to choose from spell which spell level is lower than Divine Power???

TittoPaolo210 |

"If he succeeds, the item’s spell occurs and the item or charge is not expended. If he fails, nothing happens."
Charge is singular, so, as a GM, i would make him use 1 spell per charge; so if a razmiran priest wants to activate a staff that uses 10 charges for a single spell, he will have to spend 10 spell slots higher than the spell he is trying to cast... It's pretty fair, and let's the player have his way with careful planning of money and his daily resources, but this way is not so overpowered.
For the second, you should be able to, and the cost will be the total cost of the staff with the new spell minus the cost you already sustained.

Rafim |

Uhm so I will speak with my GM. In my opinion if a Razmiran Priest found a "Staff of healing":
- Cure Serious Wound (1 charge)
- Lesser Restoration (1 charge)
- Remove Blindness/Deafness (2 charges)
- Remove Desease (3 charges)
he can use Razmiran Channel with all these powers regardless the number of charges they use.. An augmented charges costs are a way to reduce the price of a staff creation because the more charges the spell uses, the more power of the staff is used.. but the number of charges that a spell consumes cant be compared with a spell increase. If I commission a staff with 1 spell for example.. cure light wounds:
cost 400 x 1 x 8 = 3200 with a curelight wounds (1 charge)
or 400 x 1 x 8 / 10 = 320 with a curelightwounds (10 charges)
The spell inside is always a 1st lvl spell and i can use Razmiran Channel
as a 2nd lvl spell. why not??

james maissen |
Uhm so I will speak with my GM. In my opinion if a Razmiran Priest found a "Staff of healing":
- Cure Serious Wound (1 charge)
- Lesser Restoration (1 charge)
- Remove Blindness/Deafness (2 charges)
- Remove Desease (3 charges)he can use Razmiran Channel with all these powers regardless the number of charges they use.. An augmented charges costs are a way to reduce the price of a staff creation because the more charges the spell uses, the more power of the staff is used.. but the number of charges that a spell consumes cant be compared with a spell increase. If I commission a staff with 1 spell for example.. cure light wounds:
cost 400 x 1 x 8 = 3200 with a curelight wounds (1 charge)
or 400 x 1 x 8 / 10 = 320 with a curelightwounds (10 charges)The spell inside is always a 1st lvl spell and i can use Razmiran Channel
as a 2nd lvl spell. why not??
Or you buy a scroll of cure light wounds at CL 5 for 125gp
I think you are getting the 'Razmir' discount at 320gp!
James

Rafim |

Oki a change question so it's more direct:
Can I use Razmiran Channel with a Staff of Life??
- Heal (1 charge)
- Raise Dead (5 charges)
If Heal is the Cleric one it is a 6th lvl spell so can I cast it using Razmiran Channel as a 7th lvl sorcerer spell?
Can I use Razmiran Channel with Raise Dead (5 charges)??
Raise Dead is a 5th lvl cleric spell so can i cast it using Razmiran Channel as a 6th lvl spell??