| Urist The Unstoppable |
Attacking on a Charge
After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.
A charging character gets a +2 bonus on combat maneuver attack rolls made to bull rush an opponent.
Before I read the bull rush caveat I figured "Attack Rolls" included Combat Maneuvers, but that last passage leads me to believe it's only a +2 to Bull Rushes, though I prefer the idea that Bull Rush are instead a +4.
| RumpinRufus |
Ok, let's break it down:
Charge allows you to move and make a single melee attack at +2.
The Disarm, Sunder, and Trip maneuvers can be made in place of a melee attack.
Charge also gives you a +2 on Bull Rush attempts.
Other combat maneuvers (Grapple, Drag, Reposition, Dirty Trick, and Steal) are standard actions, and so they cannot be used with a charge (because charge gives you a melee attack, not a standard action.)
So you can't charge and Grapple with a +2, but you can charge and Trip with a +2.
Overrun also claims to work as part of a charge, but the rules for Overrun are incomprehensible so it's best just to ignore it.
| Jabarie |
Ok, let's break it down:
Charge allows you to move and make a single melee attack at +2.
The Disarm, Sunder, and Trip maneuvers can be made in place of a melee attack.
Charge also gives you a +2 on Bull Rush attempts.
Other combat maneuvers (Grapple, Drag, Reposition, Dirty Trick, and Steal) are standard actions, and so they cannot be used with a charge (because charge gives you a melee attack, not a standard action.)
So you can't charge and Grapple with a +2, but you can charge and Trip with a +2.
Overrun also claims to work as part of a charge, but the rules for Overrun are incomprehensible so it's best just to ignore it.
considering the trip mechanic, once charged and triped, is there any advantage in trying to grapple a triped opponent.
considering that there might be a rule or ruling that im not aware of.
| RumpinRufus |
RumpinRufus wrote:Ok, let's break it down:
Charge allows you to move and make a single melee attack at +2.
The Disarm, Sunder, and Trip maneuvers can be made in place of a melee attack.
Charge also gives you a +2 on Bull Rush attempts.
Other combat maneuvers (Grapple, Drag, Reposition, Dirty Trick, and Steal) are standard actions, and so they cannot be used with a charge (because charge gives you a melee attack, not a standard action.)
So you can't charge and Grapple with a +2, but you can charge and Trip with a +2.
Overrun also claims to work as part of a charge, but the rules for Overrun are incomprehensible so it's best just to ignore it.
considering the trip mechanic, once charged and triped, is there any advantage in trying to grapple a triped opponent.
considering that there might be a rule or ruling that im not aware of.
Someone who is prone has a -4 to their AC and therefore a -4 to their CMD, so it is much easier to grapple someone who is on the ground.
| Chris P. Bacon |
Just to cover all the bases, I think that even if you had Binding Throw and you charged someone with a trip, I don't think you would get the +2 charge bonus on your Grapple check, as the +2 only applies to the initial attack, not all attacks you make that round. Likewise, it doesn't apply to AoOs you make that round, etc.
However, Binding Throw is one of my favourite feats for a grappler because grappling a prone opponent (while you aren't prone yourself) is incredibly easy. Not only do they suffer a -4 to their CMD, but they also suffer a -4 to their CMB when they try to grapple you back. Plus, technically they can't stand up until they win a grapple check to move the fight, and even then it's unclear as to whether they can use that movement to stand; by RAW they can't.
| RumpinRufus |
Chris P. Bacon wrote:Plus, technically they can't stand up until they win a grapple check to move the fight, and even then it's unclear as to whether they can use that movement to stand; by RAW they can't.Source?
He's right you can't stand up when grappled, but I don't see why you would be prohibited from standing once you win two grapple checks (one to reverse the grapple, one to move while grappling)
Grappled creatures cannot move
Standing up from a prone position requires a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity.
Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).
Move: You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus.
| MacGurcules |
The grappled condition does prohibit moving but it doesn't deny move actions. I suppose it may depend on how you interpret movement. I suspect you'll find a fair number of people who only consider that to be leaving one square and entering another. You spend a move action standing up, but you don't leave your space doing it.
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
Ah, I see what you guys are meaning. MacGurcules is right: "can't move" only means moving from one square to another, not "any sort of physical movement whatsoever".
From the Core Rulebook:
Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you.
So, what, you think I'm full-attacking with my longsword without moving?
Next line in that paragraph:
See the grappled condition for additional details. If you are pinned, your actions are very limited. See the pinned condition in Conditions for additional details.
The "grappled" entry in the Conditions list (the same paragraph where the "can't move" thing comes from) reiterates that "In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform." If you couldn't move in any way at all, why would that line exist? For that matter, if you couldn't move at all, why aren't you helpless? Why does your DEX take -4 instead of being treated as 0 or having you lose your DEX bonus to AC?
Furthermore, if you look at "pinned", you'll see that it actually specifies you can only take verbal or mental actions, and that you lose your DEX bonus to AC, none of which is part of being merely grappled.
A grappled creature can stand up from prone as normal.
| RumpinRufus |
Ok, I think you're right - I was interpreting it as saying you can take move-equivalent actions but not move actions, and I was considering standing up to be a move action. But now I think the only action prohibited is "the move action", and any sort of move-equivalent action that wouldn't require two hands is fair game, as the rules for being grappled say "you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform".
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
I was interpreting it as saying you can take move-equivalent actions but not move actions
Looks like your conversion to Pathfinder is incomplete. ;) "Move action" and "move-equivalent action" are not two separate categories in Pathfinder; they're all just "move actions". (Though to be fair, there are a small handful of places where the old phrase slipped through the cracks or where a contributor for an expansion book used the old term and it wasn't caught.)