
Aldarionn |

I assume you mean this:
the book at the far end of the room is valuable. Titled
From the Minds of Monsters, the book is an incredibly wellpreserved
investigation of the nature of many monsters
that are capable of strange mind-controlling powers.
The truly astounding thing, though, is that the book is
penned by Sorshen herself, written in her hand in an
elegant script. The book is in fact a minor artifact—it
functions as a tome of clear thought +1 that automatically
recharges its power a month after it is used, although a
single creature can benefit from the book only once. In
addition, if it is referenced, it grants a +10 circumstance
bonus on all Knowledge checks made about monsters
that utilize significant mind-affecting attacks (subject to
the GM’s approval).
I guess I don't really know what you are asking. It functions EXACTLY as a Tome of Clear Though +1, except after one months time it regains that power and can be read again by another person to gain the effect. Each person may only use it once for that effect, but the circumstance bonus to Knowledge checks can be used by anyone that references the book.
Seems pretty straightforward to me. I don't see why PFS would have anything to do with it, or why it would function any differently for a character in a PFS game.

Aldarionn |

Ooohhh I see. Pathfinder Society characters are used across multiple games, so you want to know if the bonus you got from one game carries through to the next.
Personally I don't see why not. Are you allowed to bring equipment from one game to another? If so, then it's a pretty simple argument to make that you read a tome that was given as loot while playing in an adventure path, and thus have a +1 inherent bonus to your intelligence.
If there are rules that prohibit the gear you are allowed to carry over from one game to the next, then I would assume you could not bring the bonus from the book.
Speak to the person running your next game I suppose...
You might get better answers if you re-title the post:
"Will a PFS character retain a boon from one game into the next game?"
Then give a full description of what you are asking.

Isil-zha |
What do the PFS rules say about inherent bonuses in general? Are tomes like this banned? Could a character with enough accumulated gold buy this item? I'm not familiar with the PFS restrictions, but those questions should help to get closer to an answer.
Also this might get more PFS attention if posted in the PFS forum.

![]() |

If you are talking about PFS Organized play.. then the answer is that you HAVE to buy it off of the Chronicle sheet in order to get the +1. If during the "adventure" in which you found it then yes you can get the +1 during the adventure only... until purchased you can not use it in other scenarios for PFS play.