Unseen Servant Picking up a Disarmed Weapon


Rules Questions


Scenario: A fighter disarms a creatures sword and it falls to its feet. My Unseen Servant picks up the disarmed sword and brings it back to me.

Another player says: No because the US picking up the disarmed sword provokes an AOO which puts the US into combat disallowing the US from picking up the disarmed sword.

Is this scenario allowed or not?

Silver Crusade

There's nothing to attack with an AoO because the unseen servant does not have a "body" to hit. The unseen servant is not a creature and cannot be targeted. It is a spell effect that moves things (exerts force) at your whim. It cannot be seen because it is a spell effect, not a creature. A target could spend all day swinging a sword at the Unseen Servant effect and never hit it.

Similarly, the US cannot be a combatant. It cannot threaten, provoke, or really do anything to affect combat barring creative use by a player (such as dropping something or moving something of value such as...a disarmed sword).

I see nothing in the rules that would prevent this scenario and believe it a smart use of the spell.

Grand Lodge

From PRD: The servant cannot attack in any way; it is never allowed an attack roll. It cannot be killed, but it dissipates if it takes 6 points of damage from area attacks. (It gets no saves against attacks.) If you attempt to send it beyond the spell's range (measured from your current position), the servant ceases to exist.

So, yes, it CAN enter combat, it just cannot make attacks.

However, I am not so sure that a spell, "mindless, shapeless force," would provoke attacks of opportunity.

Attacks of opportunity describe enemies and combatants as provoking attacks of opportunity. An Unseen Servant is neither a combatant nor really an enemy.

Personally I would rule that it does not provoke.

Also... unless the disarmed opponent has another weapon ready, he does not threaten spaces to make attacks of opportunity.


from the spell description wrote:
The servant cannot attack in any way; it is never allowed an attack roll. It cannot be killed, but it dissipates if it takes 6 points of damage from area attacks. (It gets no saves against attacks.) If you attempt to send it beyond the spell's range (measured from your current position), the servant ceases to exist.

Yes it can pick up the sword and yes it can be attacked as an AOO. It cannot attack itself and unless the AOO is an area attack it would suffer no damage. I would rule that the creature's AOO could be used to grab it's sword back from the US with an opposed strength check (the US has a strength score of 2)


Hugo Rune wrote:
from the spell description wrote:
The servant cannot attack in any way; it is never allowed an attack roll. It cannot be killed, but it dissipates if it takes 6 points of damage from area attacks. (It gets no saves against attacks.) If you attempt to send it beyond the spell's range (measured from your current position), the servant ceases to exist.
Yes it can pick up the sword and yes it can be attacked as an AOO. It cannot attack itself and unless the AOO is an area attack it would suffer no damage. I would rule that the creature's AOO could be used to grab it's sword back from the US with an opposed strength check (the US has a strength score of 2)

Keep in mind ... the foe is disarmed. So unless otherwise armed does not threaten the space in which the US is operating and likely doesn't qualify to make an AoO nevermind any questions of whether or not the US can be attacked in the first place. Second the AoE has to otherwise be able to legally target the area that includes the US (and weapon and former owner ... all occupy the same space now).


Jeevan wrote:

Scenario: A fighter disarms a creatures sword and it falls to its feet. My Unseen Servant picks up the disarmed sword and brings it back to me.

Another player says: No because the US picking up the disarmed sword provokes an AOO which puts the US into combat disallowing the US from picking up the disarmed sword.

Is this scenario allowed or not?

The scenario is allowed and is one of the typical benefits of the Unseen Servant. The other player was wrong on multiple levels:

1) The Servant can be in combat--there's no restriction on that
2) If there was a restriction on "being in combat," it would be untenable at best--there's no on/off switch for combat, like in an MMO--you can't just decide someone is in combat because they got attacked
3) The Servant cannot be attacked, and so cannot be threatened, and so cannot provoke regardless


agreed...it can "be in combat" but can't actually be targeted at all...it can be hit by are affects only...and mplindustries is correct since it cannot be attacked it cannot threatened so cannot provoke...the fighter is simply screwed and should have been carrying another weapon (not a boy-scout i see)

That goes with my argument to people saying combat maneuvers are useless since I have known alot of PC's and NPC's that only have one weapon...see big greataxe wielding fighter...beat him on initiative "I ready an action to disarm the fighter should he attack me", fighter charges, disarm activates before attack happens, you beat CMD of fighter...he's standing there wondering how to hit you...now its back to your turn facing an unarmed fighter thinking "wish i had a dagger at least /cry"


no AoO, it doesn't have AC or CMD to hit, only AoE can damage it. (non-damaging AoE don't effect it)
if the Unseen Servant is standing next to the enemy and just grabbed their sword (all they can do in one round AFAIK, it doesn't really have standard+move action like normal characters) then I see nothing stopping the enemy from simply picking up the sword again, the Unseen Servant has no stats to prevent that from happening.
if the Unseen Servant attempts to carry the weapon away, the weapon itself could plausibly be targetted with an AoO, e.g. bullrush, trip?, etc. which would move it from the Unseen Servant's grasp.


Is there a way to target the weapon it's carrying so you could grab it and then an opposed strength check to take it back? No attacking it means no steal or other maneuver but it seems silly a level 1 spell should be a win button coupled with disarming.

An extended 12th level unseen servant seems like a good companion. Obviously 6 HP sucks though.


if you have GRAB you could plausibly attack the sword itself, and grab it.
normal grapple doesn't work with AoOs
otherwise things like steal and disarm don't work, because they target the WIELDER, who doesn't exist in this case.


I would run with that if I were GM'ing...if it jst happends to be within their range on their turn then yea...npc grabs weapon back...but if its outside their range they gotta move to get it and such


Thanks for the feedback gents. I'd buy all of you an ale at the local tavern if it were possible.


cheers :-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unseen Servant Picking up a Disarmed Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions