Tie Up - Clarification


Rules Questions


Page 200 of the Core Rulebook reads: "Tie Up: If you have your target pinned, otherwise restrained, or unconscious, you can use rope to tie him up. This works like a pin effect, but the DC to escape the bonds is equal to 20 + your Combat Maneuver Bonus (instead of your CMD)...If you are grappling the target, you can attempt to tie him up in ropes, but doing so requires a combat maneuver check at a –10 penalty..."

Does this mean that you take a -10 penalty to tie someone up if you skip the "Pin" and go directly to "Tie Up" or does it instead mean that you always take a -10 penalty to tie someone up that you are grappling and you may only attempt to tie them up if they are already Pinned?


The first one is correct: You can tie up with -10 if he is grappled instead of pinned.

I actually didn't know about this one. While -10 i tough, it might be used once in a while.


There are also some things that decrease the penalty or negate it.


Equipment Trick (Rope) from Adventurer's Armory reduces the penalty to -5.


Expert Captor is a class ability given to Level 2 Cavalier members of the Order of the Penitent. They can use this ability to tie up grappled--not pinned--opponents without the -10 penalty.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tie Up - Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions