Cutpurse clarifications


Rules Questions

Sczarni

Ok-I've looked over everything I can find on this but still have questions. 1. Can Measure the Mark only be used out of combat since it is a slight of hand check and not a steal combat maneuvre? 2. Does Stab and Grab have to be used before combat begins, since it involves a slight of hand check? I can see the cutpurse being extremely limited or faily cool depending on these questions. First post btw...


1. It looks like Measure the Mark would mostly be used out of combat
2. Stab and Grab can certainly be used in combat
3. Welcome to the 'boards

Scarab Sages

1) Unless the target isn't currently aware of your presence. It specifically applies to thefts based around the Sleight of Hand skill, which unfortunately has the "not in combat if your opponent knows you're there" restriction.
2)Stab and Grab explains this in its text "If the attack deals sneak attack damage, the rogue can use Sleight of Hand to take an item from the creature during combat; otherwise this ability can only be used in a surprise round before the target has acted."


Measure the Mark would require you to Stealth if you want to use it.

Sczarni

thanks all-this helps a lot

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cutpurse clarifications All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions