Adding Called to a double weapon


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

I recently had a conversation with another GM; he thought that you would have to put called on both ends of a double weapon for it to function. I can't find any good info on what would work for double weapons since they are such a small portion of the game. My opinion is that called would work if placed on either end of the axe (in this case). Any thoughts?


The ability:

Quote:

Price +1 bonus
Aura moderate conjuration; CL 9th; Weight —
DESCRIPTION

A called weapon can be teleported to the wielder's hand as a swift action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even if the weapon is in the possession of another creature. This ability has a maximum range of 100 feet, and effects that block teleportation prevent the return of a called weapon. A called weapon must be in a creature's possession for at least 24 hours for this ability to function.
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS

Craft Magic Arms and Armor, teleport; Cost +1 bonus

I would say you only need it on one end. When you throw the weapon, you're only attacking with one end.

If you're looking for a decent compromise, you could suggest that you have to attack with the end that has called on it, however that is purely a houserule.

Scarab Sages

PRD wrote:
The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it.

emphasis mine.

Seeing as how it is possible to use only part of the double weapon (and considering that sunder and disarm attempts affect the entire weapon, and not just half of it), Calling is clearly still effective when only on one half of the weapon.

Silver Crusade

Pardon the necromancy, but how would called work on a shield? you couldn't potentially put spikes on the shield, +1 the spikes then put called on them and the use your sword 2 handed until you wanted to pull your shield out and two weapon fight with shield bash.

Would the shield be called to your arm as if it were equipped or would it just be called to your hand?

Silver Crusade

rule as written

A called weapon can be teleported to the wielder's hand as a swift action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even if the weapon is in the possession of another creature. This ability has a maximum range of 100 feet, and effects that block teleportation prevent the return of a called weapon. A called weapon must be in a creature's possession for at least 24 hours for this ability to function.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The shield is teleported in your hand.
But:

- Buckler: This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm.
- Shield, Light; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand.
- Shield, Heavy; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand.

so all the shield need to be strapped to your forearm to be usable.

And:
- Ready or Drop a Shield
Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action.

say that you need a movement action to don a shield properly.

So you would teleport a shield to your hand and then you would have to use a movement action to don it.

Ad that the buckler [the only shield in the CRB that allow you to use your hand to fight while donning it] say:
"You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler."
and that that can be extended to say that if you have used a arm to fight you can't use a shield on the same arm for a AC increase till the next round and this trick will not work.

If you really want to do it you can use a quickdraw shield [nuked from orbit in my games] to get the same result in a cheaper way.

As often happen a basically cool idea [being capable to don your shield in a speedy way] was ruined by people that want to exploit it to benefit from fighting with a two handed weapon and getting the AC bonus of a shield at the same time.

Silver Crusade

thanks Diego,

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adding Called to a double weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions