Tangle Feet & 5-foot Steps


Rules Questions


Tangle Feet wrote:
When you successfully make an Acrobatics check to avoid provoking an attack of opportunity from a larger opponent when you move through its threatened area or its space, you can make that opponent lose its balance until the end of its next turn as a free action. While that creature’s balance is lost, if it attempts to move, it must make a successful DC 15 Acrobatics check or fall prone, wasting the move action. You can only affect one creature with this effect each round.

Does a 5-foot step count as an "attempt to move" for the purposes of this feat? I'm leaning toward "not per RAW" because a 5-foot step isn't a move action... but on the other hand, they are attempting to move (in the non-action sense of the word).

Arguments for or against?


"...wasting the move action" suggests that they are only talking about movement performed with a move action. It certainly could be clearer, of course.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It says "when it attempts to move" not "when it takes a move action". I would say a 5 foot step would still trigger the ability. I think the "wasting the move action" portion is just there to clarify that they fall prone before any movement actually resolves.


I agree with ssalarn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tangle Feet & 5-foot Steps All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.