Ring of foe focus activation time and type?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So the ring of foe focus state:

"This ring of jagged steel gives the impression that it was salvaged from a suit of armor and then crudely bent into a circle.

The wearer of the ring can, at will, designate any one opponent she can see as a particularly dangerous foe. She gains a +2 bonus to her AC and saving throws against attacks made by that opponent until she designates a new enemy."

what does at will means? as a fre action? immediate action? every time i want? (so one enemy attack me, ok is him, another now is him and so on?)

Thanks in advice for any help.


The default activation action is a standard action. 'At will' means there is no limit on the number of times it can be used vs a daily limit or number of charges, etc.


where does it say the default is a standard action? I just want a reference so when I tell a player I'm gming for this I have a source.


In the general magic item descriptions, both the PFRPG book and the Ultimate Equipment have it (though I want to say the UE one is a little more verbose). It's one of those questions that circulates the forums every so often.


Magic Items - second paragraph.


Ok so I went and read the core and it is there. However it actually says that the item is either a standard action or no action and goes on to describe which types of items would be which. So still need to figure out where the ring lies. I'm going to check out UE now.

Edit: Under the ring section of UE it does say that rings are activated as a Standard Action, unless otherwise stated.


Skylancer4 wrote:
In the general magic item descriptions, both the PFRPG book and the Ultimate Equipment have it (though I want to say the UE one is a little more verbose). It's one of those questions that circulates the forums every so often.

Thank you very much!


My question is, what kind of AC bonus is it? I'm guessing a shield bonus, since shield is the spell that the crafting requires, but wouldn't that not stack with a shield?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Gritnarr Halldorr wrote:
My question is, what kind of AC bonus is it? I'm guessing a shield bonus, since shield is the spell that the crafting requires, but wouldn't that not stack with a shield?

Since no type is specified, it would be an untyped bonus.


SlimGauge wrote:
Gritnarr Halldorr wrote:
My question is, what kind of AC bonus is it? I'm guessing a shield bonus, since shield is the spell that the crafting requires, but wouldn't that not stack with a shield?
Since no type is specified, it would be an untyped bonus.

That's a thing?


Gritnarr Halldorr wrote:
That's a thing?

Yes, and they stack with anything except others from the 'same source.'Though what constitutes the same source is a little ambiguous.


KuntaSS wrote:
Gritnarr Halldorr wrote:
That's a thing?
Yes, and they stack with anything except others from the 'same source.'Though what constitutes the same source is a little ambiguous.

I this case same source *should* probably mean only another Ring of Foe Focus.

In general the untyped bonus is probably a design flaw and possibly often only an editorial flaw. System would be cleaner everything were to be specifically typed, even if that included a "general" type that was defined to always stack.

This specific ring is crafted using the "shield" spell which itself grants a "shield" bonus, so...whatever. It is untyped and stacks with everything but another of the same ring.

Decent item, but spending a standard to activate is hard. If it were a free or swift it would be a great ring. As a move action it's a maybe, but as a standard it's sort of meh.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of foe focus activation time and type? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions