A Quick WAND-erful Question?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Yo!
This past weekend it was discussed at the game table that in Pathfinder RPG when wands deplete, they become just sticks i.e. there isn't any way to recharge them by casting spells into them or dipping them in magical fountains.

Is this true?

If no, can you provide a page number explaining?
If yes, that's fine too, maybe an improvement for the game, page number also would be helpful.

Thanks folks,
I do appreciate the help, we couldn't find a reference specifically to this. If its not in core rules, I have all the other books also.

THX
PAX


Quote:
A wand that runs out of charges is just a stick.

You could craft a new wand using the stick. I don't think any DMs would object, since the stick is just that (and doesn't have a cost assigned to it).

If the wand is your bonded item, you can do that as a matter of fact.


Staffs can be recharged by casting spells into them. Wands can't.

Liberty's Edge

Wands don't have a recharge mechanic. 50 charges when made, once your out it's just a stick.

you'll notice that staves do have a recharge mechanic listed, where as wands do not list a recharge mechanic. Therefore you cannot recharge wands by RAW.

A magic wand dipping fountain sounds both delightful and chocolaty to me though.


There are some unusual and rare abilities that allow recharging wands. For example a wand that is intelligent item can have a special quality that restores one charge per day (it was presented on the paizo blog and overrides the earlier rule that charged items can't be intelligent items).

The default assumption, however, is that wands cannot be recharged.


Drejk wrote:

There are some unusual and rare abilities that allow recharging wands. For example a wand that is intelligent item can have a special quality that restores one charge per day (it was presented on the paizo blog and overrides the earlier rule that charged items can't be intelligent items).

The default assumption, however, is that wands cannot be recharged.

Are there rules for crafting intelligent items? I have a wizard I am going to play in January and would love to have an intelligent wand as my arcane bond.


The fact that wands can't be recharged is factored into their pricing. Rechargable wands would necessarily cost much more since that would make them far more valuable to characters.

My wand crafting characters just reuse the wand "stick" when creating new wands.


Buy 2 wands. Then when they're used up ... CHOPSTICKS!

Make sure they are used up, you wouldn't want to Lightning Bolt your sushi plate.


Actually lightning bolting or fireballing my sushi plate would be appreciated.


Pax Veritas wrote:

Yo!

This past weekend it was discussed at the game table that in Pathfinder RPG when wands deplete, they become just sticks i.e. there isn't any way to recharge them by casting spells into them or dipping them in magical fountains.

Is this true?

If no, can you provide a page number explaining?
If yes, that's fine too, maybe an improvement for the game, page number also would be helpful.

Thanks folks,
I do appreciate the help, we couldn't find a reference specifically to this. If its not in core rules, I have all the other books also.

THX
PAX

There's no general way to recharge wands, it's true.

From the Wands section.

Quote:
A wand is a thin baton that contains a single spell of 4th level or lower. A wand has 50 charges when created—each charge allows the use of the wand's spell one time. A wand that runs out of charges is just a stick.

Nothing in the rules allows you to recharge them, so you can't.

Staves can be recharged though, even though in 3.x they couldn't.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

Arcane bond items are limited and do not include wands.

You could ask your DM for a feat or trait that lets you take one. But an Arcane Bond is supposed to be a permanent item, and taken at level 1. Unless he's feeding you an intelligent wand at level 1, this should probably cost a feat at a later level.

==Aelryinth


Wizards can start with a wand as a bonded object. It's just more of a stick that lets you cast one extra spell per day.


Aelryinth wrote:

Arcane bond items are limited and do not include wands.

You could ask your DM for a feat or trait that lets you take one. But an Arcane Bond is supposed to be a permanent item, and taken at level 1. Unless he's feeding you an intelligent wand at level 1, this should probably cost a feat at a later level.

==Aelryinth

I would direct you to the text of Arcane Bond, sir.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Aelryinth wrote:
Arcane bond items are limited and do not include wands.

The CRB states, "Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one

at no cost. Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon."

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

Hah, triple corrected! I admit my error and faulty memory, sirs.

==Aelryinth

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Quick WAND-erful Question? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions