Magus Arcana - Empowered Magic (Su) Does it require Arcane Pool points to use?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Magus Arcana(Su) wrote:


Magus Arcana: As he gains levels, a magus learns arcane secrets tailored to his specific way of blending martial puissance and magical skill. Starting at 3rd level, a magus gains one magus arcana. He gains an additional magus arcana for every three levels of magus attained after 3rd level. Unless specifically noted in a magus arcana's description, a magus cannot select a particular magus arcana more than once. Magus arcana that affect spells can only be used to modify spells from the magus spell list unless otherwise noted.
Arcane Pool (Su) wrote:


Arcane Pool (Su): At 1st level, the magus gains a reservoir of mystical arcane energy that he can draw upon to fuel his powers and enhance his weapon. This arcane pool has a number of points equal to 1/2 his magus level (minimum 1) + his Intelligence modifier. The pool refreshes once per day when the magus prepares his spells.
Empowered Magic (Su) wrote:


Empowered Magic (Su): The magus can cast one spell per day as if it were modified by the Empower Spell feat. This does not increase the casting time or the level of the spell. The magus must be at least 6th level before selecting this magus arcana.

As the post title. Magus Arcana - Empowered Magic (Su). Does it needs an Arcane Pool Point to use?

I'm asking this as a paizo product stated that an arcane point needs to be expended to use it.

Lantern Lodge

Does anyone know? Please help?

Dark Archive

You don't have to expend an arcane point to use this particular power. The description of the arcana will tell you if you have to spend arcane pool points or not.

Arcanas like Concentrate or Empowered Magic do not require you to spend a point. An arcana like Arcane Accuracy does require you to spend a point.


Secane wrote:
Does anyone know? Please help?

As far as I can see, no. What Paizo product says it requires an Arcane Pool Point?


As a general rule of thumb (with no exceptions that I know of, but there may be some) class abilities have only one limitation on uses. In other words, it would be very weird if it both had a limited number of uses per day, and also required you to spend your limited pool points.

Lantern Lodge

Whale_Cancer wrote:
Secane wrote:
Does anyone know? Please help?
As far as I can see, no. What Paizo product says it requires an Arcane Pool Point?

SPOILER ALERT!

THIS Paizo Product:
Pathfinder Society Scenario #2-21: The Dalsine Affair

You can read the specific phrase,

Here:
he uses his daily empower
magic magus arcana power to empower the spell without
increasing its spell level by expending 1 arcane pool point.


Far more likely that that is just a mistake in Dalsine's stats (there are plenty of those in those adventures, after all)

Lantern Lodge

So I should ignore it?

I'm asking, just in-case, the expending of 1 arcane pool point is required to balance the character in question.

The Exchange

Secane wrote:
Whale_Cancer wrote:
Secane wrote:
Does anyone know? Please help?
As far as I can see, no. What Paizo product says it requires an Arcane Pool Point?

SPOILER ALERT!

** spoiler omitted **

You can read the specific phrase, ** spoiler omitted **

That particular product was the first appearance of the Magus as an enemy. It was written before Ultimate Magic was published so my guess would be that a change was made to the arcana between the preview copy being given to the author of that product and the publication of Ultimate Magic.

In other words, ignore it. He has the proper number of arcane pool points and everything else appears to be in order.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Arcana - Empowered Magic (Su) Does it require Arcane Pool points to use? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions