N00b question regarding Wizard Necromancy school & command undead


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

It seems that a wizard with the necromancy school can take command undead (and channel energy) similar to the way that clerics do...

I was unable to find any info out there directly stating that this is not possible in a Pathfinder Society game, and just wanted to double check (due to possible alignment issues).

Does any know if it is or is not possible for a necromancer wizard to select "command undead"?

Thanks a lot for the help! It’s greatly appreciated!

Shadow Lodge

A wizard can command undead through the 2nd level Sorcerer/Wizard spell "Command Undead"(PRD link).

A cleric can command undead through the "Command Undead" feat (PRD link) which requires the channel negative energy class feature.

Since a Wizard (without other class levels) can not channel negative energy the wizard can not take the "Command Undead" feat.

Sovereign Court

Sorry I should have been more clear. The character in question would be using the Necromancy school, and would receive the "power over undead" ability (CRB).

Power over Undead (Su)

You receive Command Undead or Turn Undead as a bonus feat. You can channel energy a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier, but only to use the selected feat. You can take other feats to add to this ability, such as Extra Channel and Improved Channel, but not feats that alter this ability, such as Elemental Channel and Alignment Channel. The DC to save against these feats is equal to 10 + 1/2 your wizard level + your Charisma modifier. At 20th level, undead cannot add their channel resistance to the save against this ability.


The Power over Undead ability works perfectly well in PFS, either to command or turn is fine. In fact, as you will get Spell Focus (Necromancy I assume) instead of Scribe Scroll, you are perfectly set up to take the Undead Master feat at first level


It does what it says: you can channel energy 3+INT mod times per day, but you can ONLY channel to either Command Undead or Turn Undead (whichever you chose at 1st level as your bonus feat from Power over Undead). You can take extra channel (to get 2 more per day) and you can take improved channel (to increase the save DC versus your command/turn) but you can't take the alteration feats like Elemental channel.

This means you CANNOT channel to heal/harm regardless of your alignment unless you get that ability from another class.

Sovereign Court

Thanks! I really appreciate the help! I am new to PFS and was worried about alignment related issues.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / N00b question regarding Wizard Necromancy school & command undead All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions