Preservationist- How does it work


Rules Questions


The Preservationist gets SNA as Extracts but how does this work, can I place the Summoning like I cast the spell or do they appear adjacent to the Alchemist...

Also I think they are standard actions right...


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Ultimate Magic, pg. 19 wrote:
Bottled Ally: At 2nd level... He adds summon nature's ally I to his formula book as a 1st-level extract. When he prepares that extract, he actually prepares a tiny, preserved specimen in a bottle... When the alchemist opens the bottle, the specimen animates and grows to normal size, serving the preservationist as per the spell and otherwise being treated as a summoned creature....
Advanced Player's Guide, pg. 27 wrote:
Alchemy (Su):... An extract immediately becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist's possession, reactivating as soon as it returns to his keeping... Mixing an extract takes 1 minute of work....
Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook, pg. 183 wrote:

Table 8-2: Actions in Combat

Standard Action..........Attack of Opportunity
...
Activate a magic item other than a potion or oil..........No
...
Use a supernatural ability..........No

Move Action..........Attack of Opportunity
...
Retrieve a stored item..........Yes

Based on the text above, a preservationist prepares a bottled ally as an extract, taking 1 minute. When the preservationist wants to "summon" a bottled ally, they have to retrieve the bottle (a move action that triggers an attack of opportunity) and then open the bottle (a standard action that does not trigger an attack of opportunity). The ally would appear adjacent to the preservationist (since the extract "becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist's possession," it can't be thrown).


Dragonchess Player wrote:
Ultimate Magic, pg. 19 wrote:
Bottled Ally: At 2nd level... He adds summon nature's ally I to his formula book as a 1st-level extract. When he prepares that extract, he actually prepares a tiny, preserved specimen in a bottle... When the alchemist opens the bottle, the specimen animates and grows to normal size, serving the preservationist as per the spell and otherwise being treated as a summoned creature....
Advanced Player's Guide, pg. 27 wrote:
Alchemy (Su):... An extract immediately becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist's possession, reactivating as soon as it returns to his keeping... Mixing an extract takes 1 minute of work....
Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook, pg. 183 wrote:

Table 8-2: Actions in Combat

Standard Action..........Attack of Opportunity
...
Activate a magic item other than a potion or oil..........No
...
Use a supernatural ability..........No

Move Action..........Attack of Opportunity
...
Retrieve a stored item..........Yes

Based on the text above, a preservationist prepares a bottled ally as an extract, taking 1 minute. When the preservationist wants to "summon" a bottled ally, they have to retrieve the bottle (a move action that triggers an attack of opportunity) and then open the bottle (a standard action that does not trigger an attack of opportunity). The ally would appear adjacent to the preservationist (since the extract "becomes inert if it leaves the alchemist's possession," it can't be thrown).

I'm pretty sure that alchemist's retrieve and use as a standard action.

Also, get the discovery that makes your extracts last even when you aren't holding them, Imbue Extract I believe. Then you can throw it.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Cite? Extracts are not the same as bombs.

The infusion discovery will allow the bottled ally to not go inert when leaving the preservationist's possession, even allowing someone else to "summon" the bottled ally, but throwing the bottled ally is not the same as opening the bottle.


Hmm, you may be right on the first note, I may have just assumed.

I still have to support my thought on the second one. Throwing an extract would open it upon shattering.


Dragonchess Player wrote:

Cite? Extracts are not the same as bombs.

The infusion discovery will allow the bottled ally to not go inert when leaving the preservationist's possession, even allowing someone else to "summon" the bottled ally, but throwing the bottled ally is not the same as opening the bottle.

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9na0

Silver Crusade

Extracts are a standard action to retrieve and imbibe them. That's why you cannot use them with the Accelerated Drinker trait: They're already sped up by their nature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Preservationist- How does it work All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions