
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

if there is a cleric spell that has a god's name in parenthesis next to it such as ..
Smite Abomination
School evocation; Level cleric/oracle 5 (Pharasma)
CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (a holy symbol of Pharasma)/DF
EFFECT
Does that mean you have to worship that god, or at just have the holy symbol as a focus? I'm not talking about RAI, i'm talking about RAW. is this spelled out somewhere?

![]() |

Im pretty certain that Cleric spells that have a deities name by them are just most commonly used by Clerics of that deity but other Clerics can still learn and use them.
Deities also switch out some spel levels for their Clerics or offer a few nonCleric spells to their Clerics (like Sarenrae offers her Clerics Flame Blade @ 2nd) which only applies to Clerics of that deity, and unless specified does not apply to Oracles, Inquisitors, Druids, Paladins, etc. . .

Gauss |

According to Faiths of Purity spells with a Deity name next to them can be used by anyone of any faith.
The following spells are available to other faiths, but are most common among the followers of the gods noted next to their names.
With that said, the source of Smite Abomination is different and might restrict it to worshippers of that Deity.
- Gauss

![]() |

Thanks so much sean, it's nice to have a firm answer. And grimmy, I'm not sure infernal healing applies in this situation..
Infernal Healing
School conjuration (healing) [evil]; Level cleric/oracle 1, magus 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner 1, witch 1
CASTING
Casting Time 1 round
Components V, S, M (1 drop of devil blood or 1 dose of unholy water)
I dont see where it says you have to worship asmodeus. it can also be cast by non divine casters, which would muddy the waters up in that case anyway.

Are |

The infernal healing spell was originally written this way in the Asmodeus article in AP #29:
Level cleric 1, sorcerer/wizard 1 (Asmodeus)
Apparently the deity-name was removed when the spell was reprinted in The Inner Sea World Guide.
***
The fact that non-divine casters have access to the spell doesn't matter, since these articles originally said such spells could be cast by any priest who worshipped the deity in question. Priests can be of many classes, not only divine caster classes, as is also mentioned in several of these articles.

Gauss |

If the 'deity tag' is only a comment on who it is most popular with then removing it when moving from AP #29 to ISWG makes sense.
On the other hand if the 'deity tag' is a restriction as to who can use it then it is a significant change to remove it when it was moved to ISWG.
I respect SKRs intent on making 'deity tags' a limitation as to who can cast the spell. However, it appears this is not what has actually made it to print.
- Gauss

![]() |

I agree, regardless of developer intent, it appears the meaning of the rule has changed to be a suggestion, not a rule. Each DM may handle it differently, but it appears anyone can take those spells.