Magus spellstrike question


Rules Questions


with this skill you can deliver touch spell through your weapon has a free attack. what happen if you miss ? do you hold the charge like a normal touch spell ? if so, does it discharge during your normal attack (while using spellcombat) ?

Scarab Sages

The charge holds in the normal manner.

If you hit something with a weapon while holding a charge, you can spellstrike if you are 2nd level or higher.

Grand Lodge

Yes, the charge is held if you miss, until you hit either the time limit for holding spell charges or you hit with an attack.

Remember that, for instance, the +3 to attack metal armed/armored opponents from Shocking Grasp will also end when the Magus hits with that Shocking Grasp, although the -2 penalty, if in force, will not.


What does Spell Strike go against -

Touch or total AC?


Matt2VK wrote:

What does Spell Strike go against -

Touch or total AC?

Spellstrike (Su): "Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon..."

You're not making a touch attack, so you don't target touch AC.


Since you're making a normal melee attack with Spellstrike, if you're using Shocking Grasp with it, would you get the +3 to attack metal armed/armored opponents bonus with the spell?

I've been assuming you don't since you also get weapon damage when you hit but Kinevon's above post seems to say you do.

So do you get the +3 to attack metal armed/armored folks with Shocking grasp/Spell Strike combo or not?

Has there been a ruling on this some where?
AS Shocking Grasp says it get's it while Spellstrike is a normal melee attack with a weapon.


Matt2VK wrote:

Since you're making a normal melee attack with Spellstrike, if you're using Shocking Grasp with it, would you get the +3 to attack metal armed/armored opponents bonus with the spell?

Why wouldn't you?

If you changed the shocking grasp's electrical damage to another element you would retain that bonus from the spell as well.

You have a bonus to deliver the spell; it therefore applies just as it always did when someone wished to deliver it using a natural weapon or unarmed strike.

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus spellstrike question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions