
![]() |

Does getting hit by the breath weapon count as a direct hit for the dispelling bomb?

![]() |

** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **
Does getting hit by the breath weapon count as a direct hit for the dispelling bomb?
Creatures that take a direct hit from a dispelling bomb are subject to a targeted dispel magic spell
Each creature within the cone takes damage as if it had suffered a direct hit from the alchemist's bomb,
No-one is taking a direct hit from the bomb. They are taking damage as if they had suffered a direct hit. It does not work. Dispelling is not damage. Similarly none of the other bomb effects apply other than damage.

StreamOfTheSky |

I think you're being a tad overly pedantic there... O_O
You're claiming there is no direct hit at all from breath weapon bomb? That's kind of ridiculous... You're giving up a ton of range and damage (I'll take ranged touch over save for half any day) and some area just FOR the "everyone is directly hit" deal...

![]() |

Reading it at face value is not being "pedantic".
It's not even a questionable call. It fails on two major points; not only is there no direct hit, it couldn't cause a non-damage effect even if there were. The breath weapon bomb specifically says every creature in the cone "takes damage" as if struck. Effects that don't deal damage are not included.

Starcoffin |

Creatures that take a direct hit from a dispelling bomb are subject to a targeted dispel magic spell
Each creature within the cone takes damage as if it had suffered a direct hit from the alchemist's bomb,
RAW, I can see why it does not work, but I would house-rule that you get a cone dispel. The fact that the cone states "AS IF it had suffered a direct hit" is enough for me to assume that if a bomb has an effect that triggers when you have a direct hit, damage (if any) and effects (if any) should trigger.
Also, hardly is this game breaking; it takes 2 level 6 discoveries (so you have to wait until level 7 and use a feat to gain this ability, if not wait until level 8), only to remove buffs from enemies. Yes, removing buffs is very good at leveling that playing field once again, but it does not make you any better then the enemy on its own. Also, by level 7/8, the party spellcaster already has this spell and can choose what buffs it targets.

![]() |

The grenadier gets a similar cone but it targets one creature in the area and everyone else in the cone takes splash damage. It works with the grenadier's ability.
Directed Blast (Su): At 6th level, a grenadier can detonate a bomb so that it splashes in a 20-foot cone rather than affecting a radius. The cone starts at the alchemist and extends away from her in the direction she chooses. The alchemist designates one creature in the squares affected by the cone to be the target of the bomb and makes her attack roll against that creature; all other squares in the cone take splash damage. If the alchemist has the explosive bomb discovery and throws an explosive directed blast, the cone of splash damage is 30 feet long instead of 20 feet. This ability replaces swift poisoning.
If you are going to house rule something, I'd suggest just getting rid of breath weapon bomb and making the grenadier's ability available as a discovery. Then things like dispelling bomb work.
FWIW, area dispel is only available as part of greater dispel which is a 6th level spell.

Starcoffin |

That is an interesting ability, but it only effects one target if used with Directed Blast. For damaging bombs, the larger splash area is nice, but with dispelling bomb, it is moot and just gives you a smaller range with a bomb then if you just throw it.
I may be reading this wrong, I don't play alchemists so I don't know the ins and outs of their abilities very well.

Starcoffin |

considering you can throw out dispelling fast bombs which is better than a greater dispel since you can hit the same target multiple times, breath bomb dispel,legal or not, isn't so bad
Using the breath is a standard action, so you can't make a cone dispelling breath multiple times a turn.

![]() |

That is an interesting ability, but it only effects one target if used with Directed Blast. For damaging bombs, the larger splash area is nice, but with dispelling bomb, it is moot and just gives you a smaller range with a bomb then if you just throw it.
I may be reading this wrong, I don't play alchemists so I don't know the ins and outs of their abilities very well.
You are right, for some reason I was thinking dispelling bomb did reduced damage like some of the other effect bombs.