I'm Hiding In Your Closet
|
The character of which I am about to speak is a Pathfinder Society character, if it makes any difference.
If my Witch's familiar uses a hex, can my Witch still attack with his mundane weapon the same round? The reverse is certainly true; if I cast a spell or hex myself, my scorpion familiar can still sting someone.
The question seems to be in the nature of the magic and the familiar. Is my Witch doing all the magic himself and merely pushing it through the familiar, or can the familiar wield the magic himself enough that the Witch can take a comparatively mundane standard action in the same round?
If the answer to all this is 'no', another question remains: If the familiar channels a 'touch attack charge' hex (like healing) and misses, does the charge remain, and does that enable the Witch, if he wishes, to do other standard actions on subsequent rounds while the familiar delivers the touch attack?
| HaraldKlak |
The familiar can only make the touch attack for a hex or spell, so the witch still need to use the ability. So no, you cannot use another ability.
I don't think touch range hexes can be held. They are supernatural abilities, not spells. And while similarity could reasonably be argued, but the rules only touch-range spells can be held.
| Fig |
The character of which I am about to speak is a Pathfinder Society character, if it makes any difference.
If my Witch's familiar uses a hex, can my Witch still attack with his mundane weapon the same round? The reverse is certainly true; if I cast a spell or hex myself, my scorpion familiar can still sting someone.
The question seems to be in the nature of the magic and the familiar. Is my Witch doing all the magic himself and merely pushing it through the familiar, or can the familiar wield the magic himself enough that the Witch can take a comparatively mundane standard action in the same round?
If the answer to all this is 'no', another question remains: If the familiar channels a 'touch attack charge' hex (like healing) and misses, does the charge remain, and does that enable the Witch, if he wishes, to do other standard actions on subsequent rounds while the familiar delivers the touch attack?
To the first question, the PRD states,
Unless otherwise noted, using a hex is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
I'm also inclined to believe that all touch "charges" are also spent as long as the attempt is made to use them (regardless of whether the touch attack lands).
Don't take me word for the second question.