Wand of Cure Light Wounds?


Rules Questions


Does this only function with a range of touch? Or, can the wand wielder be some distance from a wounded character?

"To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole."

How far away can the wand wielder be if the range isn't touch?


It activates the spell... so read the spell to determine how close you need to be to use the wand.

Liberty's Edge

It functions as the spell, with a range of touch. The wand wielder must be adjacent to cure someone. That description applies to ALL wands, and applies as with the description of the spell. You point the wand of cure light at the wounded guy next to you, you don't face him and point it away from them.


Thank you, both.

That's what I expected. But, wanted to double check.

Liberty's Edge

metamagic rod of reach fixes that. Every combat healer should have one.


IIRC Metamagic rod won't work on wand, only on spell cast directly by the character.


Zhane wrote:
metamagic rod of reach fixes that. Every combat healer should have one.

That would help if you were actually casting the spell, it won't help for wands, scrolls, or staves. FAQ.

Liberty's Edge

Ha, wow. Several members of my FPS chapter will be dismayed to learn that.


Zhane wrote:
Ha, wow. Several members of my FPS chapter will be dismayed to learn that.

Well, it may be better this way, if they were wasting round healing people for 1d8+1 in combat...


Well, you could put on the reach metamagic feat when crafting a wand of Cure Light Wounds (or having one created). I believe it’s only a +1 to the level.


Hobbun wrote:
Well, you could put on the reach metamagic feat when crafting a wand of Cure Light Wounds (or having one created). I believe it’s only a +1 to the level.

That makes the wand drastically more expensive. 4,500 gp instead of 750.


Yes, true.

I’m just saying it’s still an option, depending how badly he wants a CLW wand with reach.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wand of Cure Light Wounds? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions