Weapon Cords and Throwing Shuriken


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Ah, the weapon cords. And the Shuriken. Both items with strange and confusing rule sets. What happens when you put them together?

From one of my players:

If I have my wakizashi's on weapon cords, am I able to drop them, throw shuriken, then retrieve the wakizashi's all on the same turn?

Weapon cord states states "still able to use hands", but also states "cannot switch to a different weapon": makes no mention of thrown ammunition (shuriken is technically not a weapon, but ammunition that requires no weapon to use). It'd be nice to be wak-ing away at someone, an opportunity presents itself so I let 'em fly, then the next turn I can swift-ly recover my wak-ers and continue on wit'cha bad self. I figure that with my combined sleight of hand score (+11) and my juggling talent (+6) it makes sense I'd be able to manage throwing-hand-motions while managing some tied-to-my-wrist-awkwardness.

Weapon Cord Rules:
Weapon cords are 2-foot-long leather straps that attach your weapon to your wrist. If you drop your weapon or are disarmed, you can recover it as a swift action, and it never moves any further away from you than an adjacent square. However, you cannot switch to a different weapon without first untying the cord (a full-round action) or cutting it (a move action or an attack, hardness 0, 0 hp). Unlike a locked gauntlet, you can still use a hand with a weapon cord, though a dangling weapon may interfere with finer actions.

RAW, looks like it is fine. However, RAI and common sense imply that there would at least be a -2 penalty. Check out the last line of weapon cords: a dangling weapon may interfere with finer actions.

What do you think?

Liberty's Edge

I'm not sure exactly how RAW would rule, but my judgement call as a GM would be a -2 penalty to the throw attack roll. It makes sense to me that you could still throw something with a weapon dangling from your wrist, but the weight and awkwardness would make it harder. I might even alter the penalty depending on the weapon, say -2 for a light weapon, -4 for something bigger.

Dark Archive

The shuriken would be a weapon in this case for using them, as it says a shuriken is ammunition for drawing them, crafting masterwork or otherwise special versions of them, and what happens to them after they are thrown, but not attacking with them. Therefore it wouldn't work.

Shadow Lodge

@SaddestPanda - I'm interested in this interpretation. Can you tell me if you are getting this from anywhere in the rules, or just from your own judgement?

Here's my current ruling: -2 penalty to shuriken attacks. Also, for added fun, we are using the critical fumble deck. Any shuriken critical fumble incurs two critical fumble cards: one from the shuriken, and one from the Wakizashi whapping you in the face. Obviously that's not RAW ... but it's fun.

Any more ideas?

Silver Crusade

3 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm not going to lie, I opened this thread expecting to see someone asking if they could put a weapon cord on shurikens...

Sczarni

Elamdri wrote:
I'm not going to lie, I opened this thread expecting to see someone asking if they could put a weapon cord on shurikens...

So did I. REALLY wanted to see the reasoning/explanation of how that would function.


Ninja-yoyo!


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Broken Zenith wrote:
@SaddestPanda - I'm interested in this interpretation. Can you tell me if you are getting this from anywhere in the rules, or just from your own judgement?

I searched the core rulebook for all instances of shuriken

Core Rulebook, page 141 wrote:
Thrown Weapons: Daggers, clubs, shortspears, spears, darts, javelins, throwing axes, light hammers, tridents, shuriken, and nets are thrown weapons.

<intervening other stuff not about shuriken left out for brevity>

Core Rulebook, page 141 wrote:
Although they are thrown weapons, shuriken are treated as ammunition for the purposes of drawing them, crafting masterwork or otherwise special versions of them (see Masterwork Weapons on page 149), and what happens to them after they are thrown.

Looks to me like the Panda is correct.

EDIT: also

Core Rulebook, page 148 wrote:
Shuriken: A shuriken is a small piece of metal with sharpened edges, designed for throwing. A shuriken can’t be used as a melee weapon. Although they are thrown weapons, shuriken are treated as ammunition for the purposes of drawing them, crafting masterwork or otherwise special versions of them, and what happens to them after they are thrown.

Shadow Lodge

SlimGauge, thanks for the ruling! Good to see that distinction in the rules. I've just been treating them as ammunition in general.

Silver Crusade

VRMH wrote:
Ninja-yoyo!

Dammit, now I must make a custom Ninja archetype: Yoyo-Master.

Sczarni

Elamdri wrote:
VRMH wrote:
Ninja-yoyo!
Dammit, now I must make a custom Ninja archetype: Yoyo-Master.

I believe this is why the rope dart exists. Good luck!

Grand Lodge

Tradition Shuriken are just sharpened iron rods, so there is little resemblance to a yoyo.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapon Cords and Throwing Shuriken All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions