Magical Lineage, Metamagic, & Spell Slots


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I know Magical Lineage has been discussed to death on the boards, so if this has been answered elsewhere please point me to the appropriate thread.

That said...

Let's say I have a 12th level spell-caster who knows Cone of Cold as a 6th level spell, has Magical Lineage (Cone of Cold), and Rime Spell (+1 Spell Slot Level). Can he use Magical Lineage (-1 Final Adjusted Level) to have a Rime Cone of Cold (normally a 7th level spell slot, but 6th due to Magical Lineage) even though the character doesn't have 7th level spell slots?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't see why not.


I'd allow it.

Dark Archive

I'd do it for same reason I allow Magical Lineage, magical Missile, and Merciful Spell to be used as a magic missile orison unlimited cast spell.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Scionus wrote:
I'd do it for same reason I allow Magical Lineage, magical Missile, and Merciful Spell to be used as a magic missile orison unlimited cast spell.

That's mighty generous of you.

Silver Crusade

bdk86 wrote:

I know Magical Lineage has been discussed to death on the boards, so if this has been answered elsewhere please point me to the appropriate thread.

That said...

Let's say I have a 12th level spell-caster who knows Cone of Cold as a 6th level spell, has Magical Lineage (Cone of Cold), and Rime Spell (+1 Spell Slot Level). Can he use Magical Lineage (-1 Final Adjusted Level) to have a Rime Cone of Cold (normally a 7th level spell slot, but 6th due to Magical Lineage) even though the character doesn't have 7th level spell slots?

Sure, no problem there.

@scionus: Nice idea, I wish I could explain the usefullness of nonlethal damage to my players ..


my party always looks at me funny for bringing saps or some other form of subdual damage on my characters. a subdual dealing magic missle as a 0 level spell is one of the least broken things I've seen using magical lineage to attempt to produce a 0 level spell.

Asta
PSY


One of my players also combined it with the toppling feat, so he can make them trip as well!

Grand Lodge

No. you'd have to be able to cast a spell in it's base form. Metamagicing a spell is essentially applying advanced knowledge. If you can't handle the base spell then you can't cast a metamagiced version of it.


Um, but 12th level casters can cast a 6th level spell in it's base form.


@LazarX: What do you base that on? Magical lineage alters the spells level to 6. A 12th level caster can cast 6th level spells. I think your interpretation is wrong.

Grand Lodge

Derwalt wrote:
@LazarX: What do you base that on? Magical lineage alters the spells level to 6. A 12th level caster can cast 6th level spells. I think your interpretation is wrong.

You can't cast a metamagiced spell without learning the base spell to apply the metamagiced one. You can't learn the base spell until you can learn 7th level spells, you have to learn the base spell FIRST even if you can gimcracky it down to a lower level, which you can't. You can't use magical lineage to lower a spell below it's base level because you can't reduce it's metamagic cost to a negative number.


I don't understand what you are saying. Cone of cold is normally a 5th level spell - OP has stated it is a 6th level spell for him (I'm assuming Water Domain). He is a 12th level caster and can cast 6th level spells. He has got the spell (or learned it). He can cast the base spell. The metamagic is what takes it to 7th level - and magical lineage brings it back down to 6th level. I see no problems in him casting a 6th level spell this way.


I'm doing nearly the same thing. Totaly ok.
You can cast the base spell, and you have a slot of the level the spell has in the end so you can cast it.


...when I read your posts again, LazarX, and see them in the context of Scionus' post ("I'd do it for same reason I allow Magical Lineage, magical Missile, and Merciful Spell to be used as a magic missile orison unlimited cast spell."), I think you might have been a little to fast in your replies.

I think you're referring to if someone had a 7th level spell, metamagiced it +0 lvls and then used magical lineage to turn the 7th level spell into a 6th level spell. And you say that, that is not possible. And that I agree with.

Scarab Sages

Also, JB chimed in on a previous thread that they will be putting out an errata to clarify that Magical Lineage and similar abilities cannot lower a spell below its base level.

Grand Lodge

I would say yes.

Scarab Sages

Jason Bulmahn wrote:


Hey there Folks,

Magical Lineage was never intended as a way for you to actually lower a spell's level. It was put in to allow you to reduce the increase from a metamagic feat. So, no unlimited magic missiles. I will see to it that the language of this ability is clarified soon and I will get this added to the FAQ.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical Lineage, Metamagic, & Spell Slots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions