
Banecrow |

Ok do I have this right
Wizards are always able to enchant their bond items as if they had the correct enchant item feat even if they do not actually have the feat. If I choose a staff at level 1 as my bond item can I then enchant the staff as if using enchant staves feat to make a staff that can cast burning hands? 400gp x spell level (1) x caster level (1) would = 400gp?
Am I missing something here about this that seems pretty awesome for a low level wizard to have and 400gp is not that hard to acquire.

Banecrow |

Yeah, but a staff flavor-wise is supposed to hold a list of themed spells. You technically have an oversized wand if you only put one spell into it. I only bring that up in case you wonder why the GM says no, if he does say no.
However since this is the rules section you can do it by RAW. :)
Well the wizard is a fire elementalist wizard, the idea is that as my character grew in levels I would keep adding more fire spells to the staff. Such as scorching ray once I can cast it and eventually fireball etc.

Banecrow |

I believe the rules elaborate on this by saying that you must be of at least the caster level it would normally take to qualify for said feat and thus enchant said item. So no, you could not make your staff a magic staff at level 1.
Dam! would have been a lot of fun to have a staff that I could keep enchanting as I grew in levels.

Justin Ricobaldi |

Dam! would have been a lot of fun to have a staff that I could keep enchanting as I grew in levels.
Yeah, sorry to be the bearer of bad news. I double checked too and the example they use in the core is a 5th level wizard needing to be 5th level before he could enchant his bounded dagger.

Banecrow |

A staff can not be modified(get new spells) by the rules unless I missed something. That means you would have to get a new staff to bond yourself to.
Where does it say you cannot upgrade a staff? I thought it would work just like any other magic item. You can always upgrade I thought.

wraithstrike |

wraithstrike wrote:A staff can not be modified(get new spells) by the rules unless I missed something. That means you would have to get a new staff to bond yourself to.Where does it say you cannot upgrade a staff? I thought it would work just like any other magic item. You can always upgrade I thought.
It seems I may have been incorrect. That is the 2nd time in one day. Oh well in 17 minutes the day will be over.

Banecrow |

You may have just invented a pretty cool homebrew archetype.
Hmmm interesting idea.
Staff Mage
Staff Bond object: A Staff Mage must choose a staff as his wizard bond item at level 1 and cannot choose a familiar. In return a Staff Mage is able to enchant his staff as early as level 1 as if he had the craft staff feat. As the wizard grows he is expected to keep enchanting his staff along a theme central to his wizard arch type.
Diminished Spellcasting: A Staff Mage may cast one fewer spell of each level than normal. If this reduces the number to 0, he may cast spells of that level only if his Intelligence allows bonus spells of that level.

FightslikeaHomid |

Jiggy wrote:You may have just invented a pretty cool homebrew archetype.Hmmm interesting idea.
Staff Mage
Staff Bond object: A Staff Mage must choose a staff as his wizard bond item at level 1 and cannot choose a familiar. In return a Staff Mage is able to enchant his staff as early as level 1 as if he had the craft staff feat. As the wizard grows he is expected to keep enchanting his staff along a theme central to his wizard arch type.
Diminished Spellcasting: A Staff Mage may cast one fewer spell of each level than normal. If this reduces the number to 0, he may cast spells of that level only if his Intelligence allows bonus spells of that level.
I wouldn't diminish the spells per day. I'd probably take away the Spell School aspect of the class and substitute it with this. Maybe make it a subschool of universalist. You lose the pretty terrible level one ability and the metamagic ability at level 8.