Use Magic Device Question


Rules Questions


At my last society game, one of the players added a +2 to his (UMD) wand activation check because he had used the wand in question before. A reread of the rules seems to indicate that this +2 bonus only applies when trying to Activate Blindly (that strange unidentified wand you found in the dungeon rather than the one you bought at the magic store - where the seller handily provided you with the spell trigger). There is nothing about a +2 for previous use in the Use a Wand, Staff or Other Spell Trigger Item section of the skill description.

Can anyone clarify this for me.

Much Thanks


Your player is in error.

The +2 bonus is stated specifically for attempts to activate blindly if you have succeeded in activating the thing before.

It doesn't come into play when UMD'ing for other effects, like firing a wand which has an effect that's not on your spell list.


That was my take after my reread of the skill description - thanks for the back up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Use Magic Device Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions