Many headed Eidolon


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does a multi-headed, multi-bite Eidolon have to take the trip evolution for each bite or just once covering all bite attacks?

Trip (Ex): An eidolon becomes adept at knocking foes
to the ground with its bite, granting it a trip attack.
Whenever the eidolon makes a successful bite attack of
the selected type, it can attempt a free combat maneuver
check. If successful, the target is knocked prone. If the
check fails, the eidolon is not tripped in return. This
ability only works on creatures of a size equal to or
smaller than the eidolon. The eidolon must possess the
bite evolution to select this evolution.

The wording bite attack of the selected type is what confuses me.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You only need to take it once for all bite attacks. It clearly stipulates "whenever the eidolon makes a successfully bite attack..." as the only requirement.

Liberty's Edge

My immediate reaction is "yes", but I marked your post FAQ.

Your post suggests a really cool "Hydra" eidolon, biting with several heads and potentially tripping with each successful bite. I assume that was your intent?

I will have to ask my GM about this. If my current character gets killed, I think I want to build a summoner as a replacement. I had not considered a Serpentine form until I read your post.

Thanks!

*EDIT*
I misread your question. As ravingdork says, you need to take the Trip evolution only once, I think. You could then make a free trip attempt with each bite.

BWA HA HA HA!

Wayfinders

Yes, you can do this with a multiheaded eidolon, because of the work a not when during an eidolon's turn a bite has been administered.


Sean Figge wrote:

Does a multi-headed, multi-bite Eidolon have to take the trip evolution for each bite or just once covering all bite attacks?

Trip (Ex): An eidolon becomes adept at knocking foes
to the ground with its bite, granting it a trip attack.
Whenever the eidolon makes a successful bite attack of
the selected type, it can attempt a free combat maneuver
check. If successful, the target is knocked prone. If the
check fails, the eidolon is not tripped in return. This
ability only works on creatures of a size equal to or
smaller than the eidolon. The eidolon must possess the
bite evolution to select this evolution.

The wording bite attack of the selected type is what confuses me.

The entie Eidolon entry needs to be re-written as there is a great deal of confusion in the wording... specifically as it relates to whether you need to buy something for a single attack, for an attack type or for all attacks at once.

Case in point:

Energy Attacks (Su)
An eidolon’s attacks become charged with energy.
Pick one energy type: acid, cold, electricity, or fire. All of the eidolon’s natural attacks deal 1d6 points of energy damage of the chosen type on a successful hit. The summoner must be at least 5th level before selecting this evolution.

This seems to suggest that you buy it once and the benefit applies to all attacks.

Push (Ex)
An eidolon gains the ability to push creatures away with a successful attack. Select one type of natural attack. Whenever the eidolon makes a successful attack of the selected type, it can attempt a free combat maneuver check. If successful, the target of the attack is pushed 5 feet directly away from the eidolon. This ability only works on creatures of a size equal to or smaller than the eidolon. Creatures pushed in this way do not provoke attacks of opportunity. This evolution can be selected more than once. Its effects do not stack. Each time an eidolon selects this evolution, it applies to a different natural attack.

This seems to sugest that if you buy it for claws, it affects all claw attacks no matter how many you have but not bites unless its purchased seperately for bites. The final line muddies the issue though.

Reach (Ex)
One of an eidolon’s attacks is capable of striking at foes at a distance. Pick one attack. The eidolon’s reach with that attack increases by 5 feet.

This seems to suggest that you have to buy the evolution for each attack seperately, whether they are the same type of attack or not.

These are just a few examples.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Many headed Eidolon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions