Weirdo
|
This ring might seem to be a ring of spell storing upon first examination. However, while it allows a single spell of 1st through 6th level to be cast into it, that spell cannot be cast out of the ring again. Instead, should that spell ever be cast upon the wearer, the spell is immediately countered, as a counterspell action, requiring no action (or even knowledge) on the wearer's part. Once so used, the spell cast within the ring is gone. A new spell (or the same one as before) may be placed into it again.
((readied action and spell identification, automatic by ring))
To complete the action, you must then cast an appropriate spell. As a general rule, a spell can only counter itself. If you are able to cast the same spell and you have it prepared (or have a slot of the appropriate level available), you cast it, creating a counterspell effect. If the target is within range, both spells automatically negate each other with no other results.
1) Can a Ring of Counterspelling be used to protect against an area spell, or does the trigger condition "when the spell is cast upon the wearer" require a targeted spell?
2) Can the Ring of Counterspelling be used to protect against a spell that has multiple targets (such as Mass Suggestion)?
3) If yes to either of the above, does that negate the entire effect as a standard counterspell would, or does it only protect the wearer?
| VRMH |
1) Can a Ring of Counterspelling be used to protect against an area spell, or does the trigger condition "when the spell is cast upon the wearer" require a targeted spell?The description seems to specifically avoid saying "when the wearer is targeted with a spell", so it should work on AoE spells too.
2) Can the Ring of Counterspelling be used to protect against a spell that has multiple targets (such as Mass Suggestion)?Sure, why not?
3) If yes to either of the above, does that negate the entire effect as a standard counterspell would, or does it only protect the wearer?
As written, it should prevent the spell as a whole, for all targets, though I imagine many GMs would rule differently.
Weirdo
|
If I may :
What happens if I wear a ring of counterspelling (say enervation) and cast enervation on a target with spell turning ?
I'd guess that Spell Turning works normally, so it bounces off the target, but when it rebounds onto you the Ring kicks in and it is counterspelled to no effect.