
Midnight_Angel |

What exactly does Augment Summoning work on?
a) all spells with 'Summon' in their name?
b) all conjuration (summoning) spells?
.
i.e. are Vomit Swarm, Insect Plague, Creeping Doom, Mount, Rain of Frogs and the like affected by this feat, or do I have to stick to Summon Monster, Summon Nature's Ally, Summon Eidolon, Summon Swarm and their brethren?

Rasmus Wagner |

What exactly does Augment Summoning work on?
a) all spells with 'Summon' in their name?
b) all conjuration (summoning) spells?
.i.e. are Vomit Swarm, Insect Plague, Creeping Doom, Mount, Rain of Frogs and the like affected by this feat, or do I have to stick to Summon Monster, Summon Nature's Ally, Summon Eidolon, Summon Swarm and their brethren?
As written (and probably intended), A). The spell text doesn't say "summoning spell", it says "summon spell", which is usually the shorthand for "spell with summon in the title".

Cpt. Caboodle |

That seems a bit arbitrary to me. The only difference between summon swarm and vomit swarm is the control over the vomited one... why should they be treated differently, featwise? btw, the only augmentation is that the swarm would gain a few hit points (4 in the case of vomit swarm); the strength increase is irrelevant, and the bonus to fortitude would be mostly irrelevant, too, because there are not many spells that require a fortitude save and work against a mass of opponents. That doesn't seem too powerful.
In the case of creeping doom, the HD of the swarm would be 16-20 (hence the 4d6 damage), so you could rule it'd get an extra 32hp. Why not, it's a 7th level spell.

Gauss |

Benefit: Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.
The word 'summon' is italicized. My understanding is that this indicates that it is in fact a spell with the word summon in it. If it intended it to be any conjuration (summoning) spell then I think it would have said that.
However, there is enough grey area here that without a developer statement it could probably apply to both. Personally, I would allow it to apply to any summoned monster using conjuration (summoning) as the determining factor.
- Gauss