Familiars and trained skills


Rules Questions


Familiars wrote:
Skills: For each skill in which either the master or the familiar has ranks, use either the normal skill ranks for an animal of that type or the master's skill ranks, whichever is better. In either case, the familiar uses its own ability modifiers. Regardless of a familiar's total skill modifiers, some skills may remain beyond the familiar's ability to use.

When a familiar uses its master's skill ranks, and said master is trained in that particular skill, is the familiar considered trained too?


Yes. Having skill ranks to add to its skill check, it can't be considered as anything other than trained in the skill from a game mechanics point of view.


Ambrus wrote:
Yes. Having skill ranks to add to its skill check, it can't be considered as anything other than trained in the skill from a game mechanics point of view.

That doesn't mesh with the description at all.

ie: The master has UMD as a class skill, a 16 charisma, and 4 ranks (thus a +9 modifier).
The familiar, does not have it as a class skill, and has no ranks, and a 10 charisma, would have a +4 modifier, since it gets to use its masters ranks only, as per the description. I see no basis for a decision that it suddenly becoming a class skill for the familiar as well.

It would be the same if the familiar put on a headband of intellect with UMD enchanted into it. It'd get his HD in ranks, but its still not a class skill for it.


Class skill isn't the issue though, but whether or not the skill counts as "trained".
To use your example, the familiar would have a +4 to its UMD skill but could still not make any UMD check unless the skill qualifies as trained.


Ah, I see! Totally misunderstanding on my part!

Ambrus has it right then.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Familiars and trained skills All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions