Dispel magic and Efreeti Bottle


Rules Questions


What happens if a dispel magic is successfully cast on a Efreeti Bottle and not the Efreeti itself? According to the spell description, "the item's magical properties are suppressed for 1d4 rounds, after which the item recovers its magical properties". Does this free the Efreeti to go to his home plane? Does this force him back into the bottle so he can be summoned again? One of my players managed to do this tonight by blowing a harrow card and a fate point to get +16 on his level check.

As the GM, I obviously get to make the ruling, but I’m really interested in knowing what the rules say about this?


Thess wrote:
Does this free the Efreeti to go to his home plane?
That makes sense, as apparently crafting the bottle automagically puts an Efreeti inside.
Quote:
Does this force him back into the bottle so he can be summoned again?
Like a ghostbusters' trap? It's a nice visual, but it opens a whole new can of worms. You suppress the magic of a bottle, and that causes it to suck in the Efreeti. That makes no sense. And what would happen if another Efreeti was nearby - might it get sucked in?
Quote:
I’m really interested in knowing what the rules say about this?

Nothing that I know of, it looks like you're on your own.

I suggest this: the Efreeti is released from its bonds, and vanishes. The bottle, once magical again, can "suck in" a new Genie when opened within 10' of one and only then functions again, but will be dependant on the type of Genie trapped.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dispel magic and Efreeti Bottle All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.