| Kazaan |
For added fun, cast enlarge person first to give you a 10' reach.
And then wield a whip for 30' reach. And then, trip them all. And then, have Greater Trip, Combat Reflexes, and plenty of Dex so you can nail them with additional AoOs to disarm them. They're all on their butts now and don't have their weapons. Need to spend a whole turn standing up and picking up their weapons. And then, you laugh.
| Khrono5 |
@Nunspa: Per FAQ you don't get bonus attacks from Haste when using Spell Combat; Haste grants an extra attack while taking a full attack action; Spell Combat is specifically a full-round action but not a full attack action.
Other than that, yes - Greater Bladed Dash is nasty.
I just start playing a magus in october and when I saw bladed dash I was super excited, I'm a little disappointed that there is no official ruling about the movement yet. But in regards to Xaratherus's post, here is a link saying that Haste has been rectified to include spell combat since you get to take a full attack action as part of it. So you do get the extra attack if you are hasted and you use spell combat.
| Dave Justus |
@Nunspa: Per FAQ you don't get bonus attacks from Haste when using Spell Combat; Haste grants an extra attack while taking a full attack action; Spell Combat is specifically a full-round action but not a full attack action.
Other than that, yes - Greater Bladed Dash is nasty.
They have changed that ruling. see this faq
| RafaelBraga |
Wielding reach weapons or having reach would not help at all. The spell only allow you to attack opponents that were adjacent to you during your move.
If you have 200ft reach, you will skill only get one attack at one adjacent enemy, or one attack at each adjacent enemy with greater dash.
Not a single attack farther than 5ft. No matter your reach... technically even an fine mosquito casting this spell could attack adjacent people.
| Remy Balster |
If someone is in your way, just go over them. The fall will be less than 10ft so long as they were further than half the distance you travel away.
If they're a medium sized critter, for example, you could...
Bladed Dash over an enemy, and land on the other side of them.
If they're adjacent, you would fall 10ft here, but an acro check would help prevent going prone taking damage.
Bladed Dash over an opponent 10ft away. You'd fall 7.5 feet, taking no damage nor going prone. Same for further enemies... An opponent 15ft away and you'd only fall 6 2/3 ft. 20ft away and you'd fall only 6.25 ft. 25ft away and only 6 ft.
So, don't even worry about going through them, just go over them.
| insaneogeddon |
The spell wording is unclear as what kind of movement it is.
Some think it is similar to teleport and thus you just arrive where you want to.
Others think it is normal movement thus difficult terrain or other stuff apply.
? how can that be.... no one is that much of an honourless cheat that can also read and has brain enough to rpg.
'move up to 30 feet in a straight line'
'a multi-hued cascade of images behind you'
'This movement'
'the bonus movement granted by this spell'
'along the trajectory'
and its transmutation.
vs
'instantly transfer yourself'
conjuration (teleportation)
unclear as glass lol
| Neonpeekaboo |
So, I'm reading 30ft in any direction means just that. It doesn't consider difficult terrain. The reason it's not a teleport, is because you cant dash through a solid wall. You have to have a clear line of movement. That being said, sure, you can move 30ft straight up and attack a flying creature, so long as you're wiling to take the damage from falling 30ft as you plummet back down to the ground.
If you're levitating or flying? Blade Dash, no fall.
Can you Blade Dash through an occupied square? Sure. Why? Because you can move through an occupied square. under noraml circumstances, you would have to make an acrobatics check to move through a square to prevent the AoO provoked by such movement.. the spell clearly states that you provoke no AoO from this movement.
So, yes, you can definitely move through an enemies square.
As far as spell-combat.. You should definitely be able to spell-combat, 30ft move, attack, normal attack at -2, 5ft step.
My reasoning for this, is mainly because in casting the spell, you're not taking a movement, it's part of a spell.
There's nothign preventing me from taking a 5ft step Away from an opponent, Spell Combat ->Blade Dash (move 30ft/attack).
X=Magus, O=Oppenent
Round Start XO O
5ft step away X O O
Blade Dash = OX OX
After casting blade dash he gets 2 attacks, 1 per the spell against the initial enemy, the second, his standard attack at -2 per spell combat rules.
Your idea of not being able to take the 5ft step would mean that he is unable to make use of the 30ft movement granted by the spell, which isn't restricted to your normal movement. If it WERE restricted to normal movement, it would say so.. which would then open the door to denying the 5ft step, and being affected by difficult terrain.
Granted, until it's FAQ'd we'll never know for sure, and sure.. some people interpret it differently. This is just how I see it, and how it's run on my table.
Is it a great spell? Absolutely. Is it OP? Not really, because you cant use the blade dash attack with a charge from a touch spell like frostbite.
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
As far as spell-combat.. You should definitely be able to spell-combat, 30ft move, attack, normal attack at -2, 5ft step.
My reasoning for this, is mainly because in casting the spell, you're not taking a movement, it's part of a spell.
That which prevents taking a 5ft step is not simply "taking a movement".
To quote the actual rules for 5ft steps:
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.
That seems pretty clear to me.
| Neonpeekaboo |
Neonpeekaboo wrote:As far as spell-combat.. You should definitely be able to spell-combat, 30ft move, attack, normal attack at -2, 5ft step.
My reasoning for this, is mainly because in casting the spell, you're not taking a movement, it's part of a spell.
That which prevents taking a 5ft step is not simply "taking a movement".
To quote the actual rules for 5ft steps:
Core Rulebook, Combat chapter, Actions in Combat, Miscellaneous Actions, Take 5-Foot Step wrote:You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.That seems pretty clear to me.
While I can see where you're coming from, I'll have to disagree.
Fighter goes on 15, I go on 12. Fighter bullrushes me, beats my CMD by 10, knocking me back. I have moved a distance. You're strict intrepretation of that means I can not take a 5ft step on my turn.
This is false.
If I can move 5ft and then cast a spell which then moves me 30ft, there is no reason that I can't cast a spell that moves me 30ft and then take a 5ft step.
What I can't do, is take a 5ft step, then take my action as a move and move 30ft, or move 30ft and take my action as a 5ft step.
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
Ah, I see. You're coming at it from the "This result seems good, so how do the rules need to work in order to get there?" angle. A necessary talent for GMing, though posts of that nature belong in this other forum.
This forum, meanwhile, is for "Let's start with what the rules say, and determine what they add up to whether we like the result or not."
So here in this forum, we look at the rules, and see that they say you can't take a 5ft step if you've performed any kind of movement, not just certain types of movement.
Inventing your own list of which types of movement should and should not prevent a 5ft step is something you'd be generating yourself, not something that can be derived from actual rules, and therefore belongs in the forum I linked.
As for your bull rush example, I don't think I'd say the wizard "performed" that movement.
| Neonpeekaboo |
Ah, I see. You're coming at it from the "This result seems good, so how do the rules need to work in order to get there?" angle. A necessary talent for GMing, though posts of that nature belong in this other forum.
This forum, meanwhile, is for "Let's start with what the rules say, and determine what they add up to whether we like the result or not."
So here in this forum, we look at the rules, and see that they say you can't take a 5ft step if you've performed any kind of movement, not just certain types of movement.
Inventing your own list of which types of movement should and should not prevent a 5ft step is something you'd be generating yourself, not something that can be derived from actual rules, and therefore belongs in the forum I linked.
As for your bull rush example, I don't think I'd say the wizard "performed" that movement.
You say the wizard didn't perform the movement.. but that's not what the rules, per your interpretation, say. It says you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance. Not "you cant take a 5ft step in the same round that you performa move of any distance".
So which is it? Is it ANY movement at all? Or are certain types of circumstantial movement allowed? ie, movement against your will, or spells that move you regardless of your base movement.
| Neonpeekaboo |
"You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance."
Yes, it does say perform any other kind of movement. then it goes on to say "You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance."
Strict reading, as written, if your move action on your turn is to move 30ft, then you cant use a double move to then take a 5-foot step. If you have moved at all, any distance, during the round then you are unable to take a 5-foot step.
As written, that tells me that if you start your turn in a square that you didn't end your previous turn in.. then you have moved. If you have moved any distance in the same round, you cant take a 5ft step.
Obviously, we all consider this incorrect (I actually agree with you on that point). And we can all agree that it's perfectly ok to move 5ft and cast Teleport, or Dimension Door, or even Blade Dash.
My whole stance, is that if you can 5ft and cast, then you can cast and 5ft, because the Spell is not performing movement, so much as it's moving you.. and if you can 5ft after being moved by a bullrush, then it's perfectly reasonable to 5ft after a spell moves you 30ft.
"You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round." Your actions are spell combat, which lets you cast a spell, and attack. After which you may take a 5ft step.