Occupying a Dying Creatures Square


Rules Questions


Can you occupy the square of a creature that is not yet dead, but is at negative hit points?


setzer9999 wrote:
Can you occupy the square of a creature that is not yet dead, but is at negative hit points?

Ending Your Movement: "You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless."

Dying: "A dying creature is unconscious and near death."

Unconscious: "Unconscious creatures are knocked out and helpless."

Bonus answer:
Stable: "A character who was dying but who has stopped losing hit points each round and still has negative hit points is stable. The character is no longer dying, but is still unconscious."


Thanks!


What if a dying creature receives healing and is no longer unconscious, but stays still, lying on the floor. Enemies would not notice, that he is alive (again) and would treat him like he was dead (if they did not recognize the healing) and thus not attack him. But could they move onto his field? If not, they would recognize, that he was alive.

We ran into this problem yesterday and had no idea how to solve this situation. How do other GMs solve this problem?

Our idea was a very special house rule:
The enemy standing above the lying creature would get an immediate AoO whenever the lying creature acts. Even actions that do not provoke AoO would trigger an attack because of the very supreme position of the attacker. The lying creature can only wait and think (and thus concentrate on effects or active effects mentally). Even perception by vision is limited, because the open lids would reveal that he is alive.

What do you think about that?


RAW you end up in the last square you could legitimately occupy (basically the one before you entered into the now illegal square). Anything else would be a house rule to each groups tastes.


I know about the official rules, but they imply that a creature can not feign death. I also know that this situation needs a house rule, and that's what I wanted to ask here: What are your thoughts and sugggestions about this situation and how to play/rule it?


The reason you got the response that you did, is that this post is in the rules questions forums. posting in the houserules/suggestions forums may net the response you're looking for


What about size differences>?

I was wildshaped into a Tiny Hawk and sitting ontop of our Dwarven Fighter... Fighter moved to attack(charged) and the Dm ruled that I cannot occupy the same space (so at first my character was one space behind the Dwarf..).

Now the Dwarf wields a Two handed Battle Axe swinging... so as not to take incidental damage from standing on the shoulders of the Dwarf I just flew away... I totally agree with my DM of course but was wondering about familiars and Size rules for movement and occupying spaces


I'm fairly sure you can occupy the square of something 2 or more size categories larger than you. Don't quote me on that though. it may be a 3.5 relic


Ok, sorry, I am new and didn't recognize the subforum (just googled it).
I will move my question then.

Thank you.


Weables wrote:
I'm fairly sure you can occupy the square of something 2 or more size categories larger than you. Don't quote me on that though. it may be a 3.5 relic

It's not a 3.5 relic, but the statement isn't entirely accurate. Here is the Pathfinder version:

PRD - Combat - Moving Through a Square wrote:

Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.

Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.

A big creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories smaller than it is. Creatures moving through squares occupied by other creatures provoke attacks of opportunity from those creatures.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I love that rule... So, a Collosal Red Dragon can move through the square of a Large creature... But not a Fine, Diminutive, Tiny, Small, Medium, Huge or Gargantuan one.

There are a couple of "at least" terms missing.


Chemlak wrote:

I love that rule... So, a Collosal Red Dragon can move through the square of a Large creature... But not a Fine, Diminutive, Tiny, Small, Medium, Huge or Gargantuan one.

There are a couple of "at least" terms missing.

Heh, I hadn't noticed that! I suppose my brain just inserts the "at least"'s where appropriate :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Occupying a Dying Creatures Square All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.