How fast can you take an item out of a quiver?


Rules Questions


Efficient Quiver says you can retrieve items from it as fast as you could from a standard quiver or scabbard. Just how fast is that? Is it a free action?

On the same note, can you put an item into the Efficient Quiver at the same speed?

Silver Crusade

Drawing an arrow to use with a bow is a free action. By RAW, drawing an arrow to be used for any other purpose is a move action, but I think that when this rarely comes up most people probably rule it is a free action.

Drawing a weapon is a move action. If you have a BAB of +1 or higher, (which you probably do if you own this item), you can combine the actions of drawing a weapon and moving into a single move action. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw a light or one-handed weapon into each hand in the time it would normally take to draw a single weapon.


Starcoffin wrote:

Efficient Quiver says you can retrieve items from it as fast as you could from a standard quiver or scabbard. Just how fast is that? Is it a free action?

On the same note, can you put an item into the Efficient Quiver at the same speed?

Overall, it depends. If drawing ammunition from it, that is indeed a free action. Drawing another weapon (like a staff, javelin or bow) as if from a scabbard is a move action. However, a weapon may be drawn as part of another move action if you have at least a +1 Base Attack Bonus.

Also, if you rule that you can store non-weapons in the quiver, those would likely need a move action as well.

Putting things into the quiver is likely a move action, just like putting things in any other bag or non-magical quiver.


Quite ninja'd but I'll post anyway!

How fast you can retrieve an item depends on the item. Drawing ammo (like an arrow or quarrel) is a free action. Drawing a whole weapon -- such as a javelin or spear -- is a move action, or a free action while moving for characters with BAB +1 or higher, or a free action with the Quick Draw feat. Drawing other kinds of items is a move action, like if you have a wand or staff or whatever in there. Putting anything away is a move action.


Ok, thanks everyone!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How fast can you take an item out of a quiver? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions