Arcane Duelist, Arcane Bond and THW


Advice


As I understand it, by RAW and James Jacobs, the bard archetype Arcane Duelist could not wield a two handed weapon as his bonded weapon and cast with it. Without the class ability he could wield/hold it, take one hand off it (as a free action) and cast without penalties.

So the only option technically to use a thw efficiently for an arcane duelist is to take EWP Bastard Sword or Katana, to fight with it two-handed, but being still considered wielding it, when holding it in one hand.

Is that right?

Sadly, that would make the half orc falchion wielder a less optimal choice for arcane duelist.


Edit: Sorry, this should belong to "Rules Questions".


I remember reading that you can take a free hand on and off of a weapon you are wielding as a free action.


^That and Arcane Duelist has an line in their Arcane Bond ability that states a hand wielding it is counted as a free hand for the purpose of casting.


Allright. Thanx for your answers.


Turgan wrote:

As I understand it, by RAW and James Jacobs, the bard archetype Arcane Duelist could not wield a two handed weapon as his bonded weapon and cast with it. Without the class ability he could wield/hold it, take one hand off it (as a free action) and cast without penalties.

So the only option technically to use a thw efficiently for an arcane duelist is to take EWP Bastard Sword or Katana, to fight with it two-handed, but being still considered wielding it, when holding it in one hand.

Is that right?

Sadly, that would make the half orc falchion wielder a less optimal choice for arcane duelist.

I am sorry but what statement by James Jacob? He has made some interesting calls in the past. One of which I don't agree with.

Scarab Sages

Deuxhero is correct. There is a line in the Arcane Duelist weapon bond ability that specifically states that they may use a weapon in hand for semantic spell components.


Davor wrote:
Deuxhero is correct. There is a line in the Arcane Duelist weapon bond ability that specifically states that they may use a weapon in hand for semantic spell components.

Correct

PRD wrote:


Arcane Bond (Ex): At 5th level, an arcane duelist gains the arcane bond ability as a wizard, using a weapon as his bonded item, allowing him to cast any one addition spell that he knows once per day. He may not choose a familiar or other type of bonded item. He may use the hand holding his bonded weapon for somatic components. This ability replaces lore master.

Scarab Sages

lol... semantic... where do I get this stuff?


Remember that standard one-handed weapons can also be wielded in two hands to gain the benefits of THW fighting.

So, if this ability didn't exist (or you wanted to do this with another caster with an arcane bond), you chould just use a longsword or scimitar and wield it two-handed when you want the extra bonuses to damage and the like.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Arcane Duelist, Arcane Bond and THW All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.