| Gaekub |
| 4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Alright, a fairly simple question. Does the tongue granted by the Agile Tongue feat threaten? More specifically, if someone provokes 10ft away, can the Grippli make an AoO to disarm the opponent?
Here's the text of the feat.
Prerequisites: Grippli.Benefit: You have a prehensile tongue with a range of 10 feet. You can pick up items weighing no more than 5 pounds, make Sleight of Hand checks, perform the steal or disarm combat maneuvers, or make melee touch attacks with your tongue.
Note: I realize the d20pfsrd isn't always a hundred percent accurate, but I don't have the book on hand and I couldn't find it anywhere else.
| Chemlak |
I'd say it counts as a 10 foot reach unarmed strike, since you can make disarms and melee touch attacks with it.
Disarms will provoke AoO as normal with it, and if you have Improved Disarm it will still provoke, since it's an unarmed strike.
Melee touch attacks almost always count as having a weapon, so won't provoke, in general.
The very fact that it can do those suggests to me that it should be able to be used reactively for AoO (but only for the specific uses described in the feat), and making it an unarmed strike requires the use of feats to prevent it from triggering AoO in return.
| chaoseffect |
Disarms will provoke AoO as normal with it, and if you have Improved Disarm it will still provoke, since it's an unarmed strike.
Looking up disarms, all it says is that you get a -4 on the roll if you do it unarmed, but doesn't mention anything about provoking even with Improved Disarm. Seems kind of a grey area, especially because you could argue that the tongue is a natural attack...
Hmm... the more I think about it as a natural attack the more it disturbs me actually, because that would imply that you can do it on top of all your other attacks each round >_<.
You know, I'll just go with I have no idea concerning what the tongue is supposed to count as or if it even threatens or is meant to just give you a means to deliver touch spells or try a maneuver from slightly further away.
| Gaekub |
By the way, with the Racial Heritage feat, a Human or Scion of Humanity Aasamir can take this feat.
Yeah, funny thought. Especially since you can take it at a level higher than one. "I killed so many goblins my tongue grew ten feet!"
But if this does threaten, it could be a major boon for anyone with a good disarm roll. Get charged, use your AoO to take their weapon away. Good for anyone with low hit points and touch spells too, but that's pretty spelled out.