Flowing Monk Redirection & Elusive Target Questions


Rules Questions


I have a couple of questions regarding these abilites.

1. Does the attack that triggers these abilities have to be a melee attack or does a range/spell attack trigger them?

2. For Elusive Target does precision damage aka Sneak Attack get halved also or does it deal full damage? If it deals full damage does it deal full damage to the flanker also?


Masked Mudpuppy wrote:
1. Does the attack that triggers these abilities have to be a melee attack or does a range/spell attack trigger them?

Redirection (Ex): "At 1st level, as an immediate action, a flowing monk can attempt a reposition or trip combat maneuver against a creature that the flowing monk threatens and that attacks him.

...

At 4th level, a flowing monk can use redirection against an opponent that the flowing monk threatens and that attacks an ally with a melee attack."

Masked Mudpuppy wrote:
2. For Elusive Target does precision damage aka Sneak Attack get halved also or does it deal full damage? If it deals full damage does it deal full damage to the flanker also?

Elusive Target (Ex): At 5th level, as an immediate action, a flowing monk may spend 2 points from his ki pool to attempt a Reflex save opposed by an attacker's attack roll to halve damage from that attack. .... Any associated effects from the attack (such as bleed, poison, or spell effects) apply fully even if the attack deals only half damage."

Sneak Attack is part of that same attack, it is not an extra effect. It doesn't apply separately for DR, it deals the same damage as whatever caused it. (A sneak attack with scorching ray deals all fire damage, for example)


So let's say I have a flowing monk with reach being attacked by a wizard 10ft away. The wizard casts scorching ray defensivly within reach of the flowing monk. So would Redirection allow the flowing monk to trip the wizard once he tried to target the flowing monk with the scorching ray?

If the wizard was tripped would he still be able to shoot the scorching ray from the prone position?


Masked Mudpuppy wrote:

So let's say I have a flowing monk with reach being attacked by a wizard 10ft away. The wizard casts scorching ray defensivly within reach of the flowing monk. So would Redirection allow the flowing monk to trip the wizard once he tried to target the flowing monk with the scorching ray?

If the wizard was tripped would he still be able to shoot the scorching ray from the prone position?

I'm pretty sure the RAI is supposed to allow Redirect only against Melee attacks (as the 4th level addition specifies), but by RAW the monk could use it on an enemy that used a ranged attack on him from a square that he threatened.

Spells can be cast just fine while prone, so no problem there. Basically, the wizard casts the spell, the monk knocks him over and takes the fire in the face.

I know you're wanting to cancel spellcasting with Redirect but you can't.

A monk can't interrupt the casting of an attack spell with Redirect because the spell culminates with the attack roll, which is what triggered the Redirect. If the redirect could cancel the spell, then it would be canceling the very event that triggered it, resulting in a time loop paradox that would consume all existence.

You don't want that, do you?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flowing Monk Redirection & Elusive Target Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.