ossian666
|
I don't feel like muddying up the boards with 2 questions so I will do the secondary one at the end as a side note.
An undead creature caught within the globe takes 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 25d6), or half damage if a Reflex save is successful. In addition, the burst results in the destruction of any undead creature specifically harmed by bright light if it fails its save.
The ultraviolet light generated by the spell deals damage to fungi, mold, oozes, and slimes just as if they were undead creatures.
Sunburst dispels any darkness spells of lower than 9th level within its area.
If you were to use a scroll of Sunburst (Caster level as a minimum Wizard so 15) what would the damage be for a Vampire? 15d6 and make a Reflex save or die, correct? You wouldn't double the 6d6 up top because of the sunlight being harmful or unnatural AND take the 15d6, right? Or it wouldn't be DOUBLE the 15d6 Reflex for half?
Also, if this were cast in a small room (20 ft. by 40 ft.) and centered on yourself the caster wouldn't be able to just close his eyes while using the scroll to prevent the blindness, correct? That would be worked in as the Reflex save.
| Grick |
If you were to use a scroll of Sunburst (Caster level as a minimum Wizard so 15) what would the damage be for a Vampire? 15d6 and make a Reflex save or die, correct?
You wouldn't double the 6d6 up top because of the sunlight being harmful or unnatural AND take the 15d6, right? Or it wouldn't be DOUBLE the 15d6 Reflex for half?
I think it's a completely different effect for all undead.
Normal Critters get 6d6+blind, save half/noblind
Normal Critters Against Sun get 12d6+blind, save half/noblind
Undead Critters get 1d6/CL, save half
Undead Critters Against Sun get same thing, but die on failed save
The reason I think so is that undead already take more than the double damage of a living creature that doesn't like sun.
Also, if this were cast in a small room (20 ft. by 40 ft.) and centered on yourself the caster wouldn't be able to just close his eyes while using the scroll to prevent the blindness, correct? That would be worked in as the Reflex save.
Anything in the area would be (potentially) affected by the spell.
ossian666
|
The main part on the side note to closing your eyes is more of a question on whether a 7th level Wizard casting Sunburst from a scroll could "close his eyes" because he knows whats coming to prevent the Blindness altogether? Just trying to figure out if my reponse as GM being a solid "no" was correct in thinking. I had a hard time believing he'd be able to finish reading the scroll and have time to close his eyes before the burst went off in that room. We know he had to take the damage, but it was whether or not he could negate the blindness by closing his eyes before the burst went off.
| Grick |
The main part on the side note to closing your eyes is more of a question on whether a 7th level Wizard casting Sunburst from a scroll could "close his eyes" because he knows whats coming to prevent the Blindness altogether?
Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll.
A character that is Blinded automatically fails all checks and activities that rely on vision.
Regardless, nothing in the text of Sunburst says blind creatures are not affected. This isn't a gaze attack where you can avert your eyes.
ossian666
|
(a) I'm tempted to say that it would be double 15d6, but I agree that it's not clear.
(b) I'd say you can cast a spell with your eyes closed, but not read a scroll with your eyes closed.
See I don't see how it can be read as double 15d6...its split into 2 sections with specific subsections within.
If you exist as a creature then its 6d6 and blind, AND if you have a light sensitivity then its double and blind (unless you save).
Alternatively if you are undead use the second set of rules where you take 1d6/caster level in damage, AND if you have a light vulnerability you risk utter destruction (unless you save).
| hogarth |
See I don't see how it can be read as double 15d6...its split into 2 sections with specific subsections within.
I agree that it would take kind of a tortured reading to interpret it as I'm suggesting.
But from my point of view, I would prefer the spell to do the most damage to light-sensitive undead, less damage to regular undead and light-sensitive living creatures, and the least damage to other creatures. And that holds for when the target fails its save. So I'm predisposed in favour of an interpretation where that holds for when the target succeeds on its save as well.
| Grick |
I don't think its a stretch at all.
If the first paragraph also applies to undead creatures, then a skeleton that fails its save takes 6d6 damage, is blind, and takes 15d6 damage on top if it.
That also means damage taken is cut in half twice on a successful save. The save in the first paragraph doesn't refer only to the 6d6, it just says "reduces the damage by half" which would also apply to the 15d6 from being undead.
This works out to being better for the Vampire, as the extra ~5 damage from the first paragraph is outweighed by quartering the big damage.
So, in plain English, you read the scroll with eyes open and then you get a reflex save to quickly close your eyes as the spell completes. Fail the reflex save and you weren't quick enough; you take the brunt damage and are blinded.
It could be flavored that way, sure. Mechanically, your eyes have nothing to do with it. You could be paralyzed and still make the reflex save to reduce the damage.
| Grick |
Is that the way reflex saves are supposed to work?
It seems crazy that you can get a reflex save if you could not move, i.e. paralyzed.
Yep. A paralyzed creature has the penalties and stuff in the condition. Dex of zero (changing the base ability score mod to -5) but still the chance of success. Generally people think of it as luck, you happened to be in an area of the fireball that wasn't as hot, even if you didn't leap there yourself.