Newbie question about Archetypes


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

When an Archetype takes away an ability that you learn at a specific level, but doesn't specify when the new ability is learnt, is it available from the start, or is it learnt at the same level?

Example: In the Advanced Race Guide's Prankster archetype description for the Gnome, it says the Swap skill replaces Lore Master, which is learned at level 5), but it doesn't say when you get it. Is it available from the start, or do you also learn it at level 5?


Whenever an ability is replaced you get it when you would normally get the replaced ability (unless otherwise stated)


It can go both ways. And has a few times.

Generally, do what makes most sense. In this case...I'm not sure what makes sense, so I'd probably go with level 5, as being able to do a combat maneuver without provoking AoOs is something bards can't normally do at first level.

Well, I'd probably place it at 3rd level, to be honest, but there's no rules support for that. :p

Liberty's Edge

So I guess I should stay on the safe side and not use it until level 5, unless some official word comes in and says otherwise? This is for a Pathfinder Society character, so I can't really go with GM ruling here.


Look around in ARG and UC for the archetype general rules, and see if they mention this case or similar.


Unless it gives a different level of achievement then it takes the place of, and becomes available in, the same slot as the ability it replaces.


Swap wrote:
This ability replaces lore master.

Therefore, you get it when you'd normally get lore master.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Newbie question about Archetypes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions