Yet another rules question (Qualifying for Feats)


Rules Questions

Sczarni

I'm just full of 'em tonight.

So I keep hearing that even if you only qualify for a feat because of a magical item you're wearing, you can still take it; but if you lose the item or its effects are suppressed, that you lose access to the feat.

Is this true?

Also, does this hold true for PFS?


As long as the item in question is granting a permanent bonus,

Yes, and

Yes.

Sczarni

Fascinating! I was unaware this actually worked...


In a perfect world (run by yrs, trly) it wouldn't. But run with it...


If you gain the prereq for the feat back, then you get the benefit of the feat back. You don't actually lose the feat, you see... just the benefit.

You can even lose the benefits of feats that you qualify for without any special items. For instance, a fighter who takes enough Str drain to go below 13 Str will lose the benefit of Power Attack until he gets his Str back up. (Don't confuse this with Str damage or penalties. Drain actually lowers the stat while in effect)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Yet another rules question (Qualifying for Feats) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions