Alchemists and concentration


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Do Alchemists have to make concentration checks? I would have figured yes, but have been left with doubt after seeing that Mogmurch, the sample goblin alchemist in the We Be Goblins! module, doesn't have a concentration listed in his stat block where there would be one. I'm not sure if this is an oversight or if there's something special about extracts that I'm missing.


They do not. They don't cast spells.

You can check out here to see all the consequences of that.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

No, they don't. Bombs are supernatural effects, extracts are already brewed. Also, there is no concentration skill anymore, so no concentration values are listed in statblocks ( although they wouldn't be amiss, IMHO...I always have to calculate it by hand when casting defensively for my NPC's ).

However, both Bombs and Extracts provoke attacks of opportunity when used in melee. There is no "throwing defensively" or "drinking defensively" in Pathfinder.

Grand Lodge

magnuskn wrote:

No, they don't. Bombs are supernatural effects, extracts are already brewed. Also, there is no concentration skill anymore, so no concentration values are listed in statblocks ( although they wouldn't be amiss, IMHO...I always have to calculate it by hand when casting defensively for my NPC's ).

However, both Bombs and Extracts provoke attacks of opportunity when used in melee. There is no "throwing defensively" or "drinking defensively" in Pathfinder.

I'm aware it isn't a skill anymore. Concentration is listed in stat blocks, it appears next to the caster level for any creature that casts spells or spell-like abilities.

Example:
Cleric Spells Prepared (CL 2nd; concentration +5)
yadda yadda yadda

Grand Lodge

Cheapy wrote:

They do not. They don't cast spells.

You can check out here to see all the consequences of that.

This is all interesting, and I suppose the bit about no concentration checks makes sense when you think about the fact that he can't "cast" defensively (but to balance this he also can't "lose" a prepared extract...unless it breaks?). Still, though, I have to ask, how much of these points he's made are actual rules as they were intended and how many of them are rules as he has interpreted them?

Namely:

Ogre wrote:
Can never apply metamagic feats or rods to extracts

- Is this an official rule? On the surface I don't see an issue with me applying Extend Spell to my extract-making process when creating an ant haul extract. Seems like it would just take up a 2nd-level extract slot.

Also, wanted to point out this bit of text he wrote:

Ogre wrote:
Keep an extract (maybe two) in hand so you can quaff it in the first round without having to retrieve it and consider items and feats that allow you to quickly retrieve potions.

I don't think this would really matter. Whether or not it's already in his hand or not, retrieving and drinking an extract all takes a single standard action, and can be accomplished regardless in that first round.


You can't apply metamagic feats to non-spells. Extracts aren't spells, so you can't apply metamagic feats to extracts. It's a bit hazy, I agree, but that does seem be the RAW.

The bit about retrieving it was written before the clarification by the devs. I'll point it out this thread to him.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemists and concentration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions