| Gauss |
Nope. Natural attacks work completely differently than TWF-manufactured weapons.
Unless an attack is considered secondary you get your full BAB+relevant ability (str or dex) with each attack.
Example owl form would get full BAB on each claw attack.
BTW, secondary attacks are BAB-5+relevant ability (str or dex).
- Gauss
Edit: Bestiary page301-302 has the information on natural attacks.
| Kimera757 |
Which druid attacks are secondary? Any?
My own druid is a 5th-level bear shaman, and in one level will have the ability to Wildshape into a Huge bear. In 3.x, the claws would be primary attacks, but Pathfinder seems to like using bites that way. Either way, the bear itself seems to have no attack penalties to any attack.
It also gets confusing with animal companions, like my own PC's bear companion.
| hoshi |
Which druid attacks are secondary? Any?
My own druid is a 5th-level bear shaman, and in one level will have the ability to Wildshape into a Huge bear. In 3.x, the claws would be primary attacks, but Pathfinder seems to like using bites that way. Either way, the bear itself seems to have no attack penalties to any attack.
It also gets confusing with animal companions, like my own PC's bear companion.
Use this table
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/additionalMonsters/universalMonsterRules .html
| Kardiak |
So a druid with in owl form, 2 claw atks and a beak atk. Is the beak considered secondary? IE: In a full round action, can he get 2 claw attacks as well as a beak attack (-5 for secondary)?
And does he have to take a full round action for his 2 claw attacks, or is that just a standard action?
Thank you all for the answers, I really appreciate the help :)
| Mabven the OP healer |
Very few natural attacks are secondary. Things like a dragon's wing and tail attacks or an octopus' tentacles. Most animals have only primary attacks. If you are unsure, take a look at the melee line of the animal, and if all its attacks are listed with the same attack modifier, and no commas in between, then it has only primary attacks.
When a creature uses more than one of its primary attacks in a round, it is a full-attack action, requiring a full-round action, just the same as if a 6th level fighter chooses to attack twice with a full-attack action.
| Kimera757 |
The confusion comes about because the druid rules don't seem to clearly state you get to use a creature's primary or secondary attacks. It's less important whether the animal itself treats these attacks as primary or secondary. Probably. (That's why I bolded the word "druid".)
For another PC in my campaign (a raging barbarian alchemist), the DM made his bite primary and claws secondary.
| Gauss |
Kimera757, this might be a confusion resulting from the difference between 3.5 and Pathfinder. Back in 3.5 only one set of attacks (such as a bite) was primary and all else was secondary. How your raging barbarian alchemist's DM is running it is as per 3.5 rules.
In pathfinder they changed it so that ALL natural attacks are primary except in the case of certain specific types of attacks. Those types being listed on Bestiary p302 table3-1. The main exception to this is if you are making manufactured weapon attacks and then make a natural attack the natural attack is considered secondary.
Example: Orc with a greatsword and a bite attack makes his normal greatsword attacks and then makes his bite attack at -5attack and 1/2 strength bonus on damage.
Example 2: Orc makes only a single bite attack (no weapon attacks) and gets his full attack bonus and 1.5 times his strength bonus on damage.
In your druid's case, check the table for the attack type. That will determine if it is primary or secondary.
- Gauss