Crane Wing + Two-Handed Weapon


Rules Questions


Can I defensively wield a two-handed weapon on my turn, then swap to just holding it in one hand when it is not my turn (thus not being able to use it for AoO) to gain the benefit of the Crane Wing feat?


The wap is a free action so most of DMs would say yes. Note that under the rules od free actions the Dm have the posibility to say no, so ask your DM.

Edit for califiation: you can change how you wield the weapon as free action, the only thing the Dm could say NO is to change several times in the same turn.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

PROTIP: use a one-handed weapon in two hands for that trick. That way you still threaten with it. For instance, an exotic katana or bastard sword.


Charlie Bell wrote:
PROTIP: use a one-handed weapon in two hands for that trick. That way you still threaten with it. For instance, an exotic katana or bastard sword.

Yes, this. No sense in losing out on AoOs (or being reduced to using unarmed or armor spikes or whatever). Falcata, scimitar, rapier, temple sword, longsword, nine-section chain....anything like that isn't much worse than a 2H weapon.

Main sadness is losing out on reach, though you could invest several feats on the whip for that (not worth it, IMO).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crane Wing + Two-Handed Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions