Double barel pistol rapid shot and deadly aim


Rules Questions


I have a BaB of 9/4

I have a +2 double barrel pistol and a 19 dex . and weapon focus

is it possible to do a full attack action with the above feats and rapid reload and alchemical cartridges? and fire each barrel each time?

i am getting 7/7/7/2/2 is this correct or even possible?

need a RAW answer for my DM.


From what I have read on the boards it is like many shot. so you would have 7/7/2 but each one gets the damage of two bullets and extras. Also on a crit it would only be one bullet. I may be wrong but that is what I read on the boards here somewhere I think


Cpt Jason wrote:

From what I have read on the boards it is like many shot. so you would have 7/7/2 but each one gets the damage of two bullets and extras. Also on a crit it would only be one bullet. I may be wrong but that is what I read on the boards here somewhere I think

No, they use seperate attack rolls.


I think it would come out to 7/7/7/7/2/2

-3 from deadly aim, -4 for the double barrel attack, and -2 from rapid shot. Since this allows 3 attacks, a double shot is only one attck, hence what I put above.

Unless double barrells restrict using alchemical cartridges on both, then probably yes.


Sauce987654321 wrote:

I think it would come out to 7/7/7/7/2/2

-3 from deadly aim, -4 for the double barrel attack, and -2 from rapid shot. Since this allows 3 attacks, a double shot is only one attck, hence what I put above.

Unless double barrells restrict using alchemical cartridges on both, then probably yes.

no I think that i can use Alchemical Cartridges with both. I have reloading down to a free action.

i guess my next question is AOO's I have improved Snap shot can I fire both Barrells at a folio who comes at me bro?


Let's see if I can find the relevant bits
Firearms

Loading a Firearm: wrote:

The Rapid Reload feat reduces the time required to load one-handed and two-handed firearms, but this feat does not reduce the time it takes to load siege firearms.

Early Firearms: Early firearms are muzzle-loaded, requiring bullets or pellets and black powder to be rammed down the muzzle. If an early firearm has multiple barrels, each barrel must be loaded separately. It is a standard action to load each barrel of a one-handed early firearm and a full-round action to load each barrel of a two-handed early firearm. It takes three full-round actions by one person to load a siege firearm. This can be reduced to two full-round actions if more than one person is loading the cannon.

Rapid Reload is rather straightforward, and seems to reduce reload time by 1 step. (but was written for crossbows; it applies due to the section above)

Alchemical Cartridges: wrote:
An alchemical cartridge is a prepared bundle of black powder with a bullet or pellets, sometimes with more exotic material added, which is then wrapped in paper or cloth and sealed with beeswax, lard, or tallow. There are many types of alchemical cartridges, the simplest being the paper cartridge—a simple mix of black powder and either pellets or a bullet. Alchemical cartridges make loading a firearm easier, reducing the time to load a firearm by one step (a full-round action becomes a standard action, a standard action becomes a move action, and a move action becomes a free action), but they tend to be unstable. The misfire value of a weapon firing an alchemical cartridge increases as listed in each entry.
Pistol, Double-Barreled: wrote:
This pistol has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be fired independently as a separate action, or both can be shot at once with the same action. If both barrels are shot at once, they must both target the same creature or object, and the pistol becomes wildly inaccurate, imparting a –4 penalty on each shot.

So, what have we got?

a 1H firearm with its reload time reduced by 2 steps, but also happens to have 2 barrels.

RAW, this becomes an issue of action economy. (and really, DM fiat at this point as I don't think the FAQs on the issue have been answered)
Here's why:
it is a separate free action to reload each barrel each time. So, while it takes "almost no time" in game terms, it is still 2 (free) actions for a reload, and per the rules, GMs are allowed to limit the number of free actions you can take per turn.

I've also seen some discussion on what is meant by "shot at once", and if that can apply to anything other than an "attack action" standard action.
A particularly pedantic reading might suggest that "both can be shot at once with [a full attack] action"; implying that it happens only once per full attack. However, that same reading could also be said to require the -4 apply to every shot of the full attack. (which is clearly not the intent)

On the surface, RAW seems to support the shoot(double)->reload->reload->shoot(double), but don't expect every DM to allow it, especially since you can TWF with this option(if you choose).


oh no it is a little DM fiat territory but every other character I have created has been killed because I have held back or felt bad about the characters abilities . this character has a 19 ac but amazing saves and is a high damage dealer. it is fair in my mind we have faced impossible odds during our run through serpents skull shadow demon cough....demon in a jar cough cough... ghosts that make you crazy cough cough...

so I don't feel to bad making a damage king


Lobolusk wrote:
Sauce987654321 wrote:

I think it would come out to 7/7/7/7/2/2

-3 from deadly aim, -4 for the double barrel attack, and -2 from rapid shot. Since this allows 3 attacks, a double shot is only one attck, hence what I put above.

Unless double barrells restrict using alchemical cartridges on both, then probably yes.

no I think that i can use Alchemical Cartridges with both. I have reloading down to a free action.

i guess my next question is AOO's I have improved Snap shot can I fire both Barrells at a folio who comes at me bro?

The weapon description says "with the same action".

I'm pretty sure AoOs are an action, but if your DM is particularly strict, you may need to explicitly declare that you reload before the end of every turn to get both shots on your AoO. (since I believe the FAQ indicated you could reload - ie. draw an arrow, but that could also be interpreted to say "reload once")

edit: probably a little less strict than I remember
Snap Shot FAQ


An attack of opportunity is technically an action, so yeah you can shoot both.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double barel pistol rapid shot and deadly aim All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions