Magus Spell Combat, AoO?


Rules Questions


Does it provoke an AoO when a Magus strikes and casts? I assume it does but can't find it explicitly stated in the rules, might be missing it.


Yes it does. Nothing changes the way spells normally work other than what's explicitly said in spell combat. If you use spell combat, you provoke unless you cast defensively.


aye, a tip though, you can move between casting the touch spell and making the touch attack(or with spell strike your weapon attack)

so if you're a square away from your enemy you can - cast touch spell, 5-foot step, then make your touch (weapon) attack.

but thats just one thing you can do with it :3


And to clarify, it's not the use of spell combat that provokes, but rather the casting of the spell that provokes.


Note that spell combat specifically calls how the magus casting defensively can get bonus to concentration check by taking penalty to attack roll.


Well that confirms my assumption. I was ruling it correctly but just wasn't sure. Thanks all!

Dark Archive

Raise the Thread
"Bwa ha ha ha! It lives!"

I am new to the magus class, and unsure about the rules. If I understand the rules of provoking attacks, a combat might work as follows.

"S"=Sagotel, "E"=enemy, "_"=empty square

Round 1: S_E
Sagotel casts Shocking Grasp. Enemy does not have a reach weapon, so the casting does not provoke.
Sagotel takes a 5-foot step and attacks Enemy. The weapon attack is at a -2 penalty because Sagotel is using Spell Combat. Whether the weapon attack hits or not is irrelevant. Sagotel now attempts a melee touch attack to discharge the Shocking Grasp. Sagotel misses and is now holding the charge. Enemy attacks.

Round 2:
Sagotel still uses Spell Combat. Sagotel attacks Enemy with his weapon again. Sagotel attempts another melee touch attack with Shocking Grasp. This time the melee touch attack provokes because Sagotel did not cast the spell in this round.

Liberty's Edge

Sagotel wrote:

Raise the Thread

"Bwa ha ha ha! It lives!"

I am new to the magus class, and unsure about the rules. If I understand the rules of provoking attacks, a combat might work as follows.

"S"=Sagotel, "E"=enemy, "_"=empty square

Round 1: S_E
Sagotel casts Shocking Grasp. Enemy does not have a reach weapon, so the casting does not provoke.
Sagotel takes a 5-foot step and attacks Enemy. The weapon attack is at a -2 penalty because Sagotel is using Spell Combat. Whether the weapon attack hits or not is irrelevant. Sagotel now attempts a melee touch attack to discharge the Shocking Grasp. Sagotel misses and is now holding the charge. Enemy attacks.

Round 2:
Sagotel still uses Spell Combat. Sagotel attacks Enemy with his weapon again. Sagotel attempts another melee touch attack with Shocking Grasp. This time the melee touch attack provokes because Sagotel did not cast the spell in this round.

Yup.


You have round 2 wrong. Since he missed with his touch attack from the previous round he is holding the charge.

Spell combat does not let you make an extra attack with a a held charge. Spell combat ONLY works if you are attacking with your weapon and casting a spell that round.

Round 2 choices are:
Attack with weapon (and if the magus is 2nd level or higher use spellstrike to deliver the charge).

Make a touch attack with shocking grasp. Does not provoke an AoO.

Make an attack with a natural weapon or unarmed strike. This is not a touch attack, but a normal melee attack. (this may or many not provoke an AoO depending on if you have improved unarmed strike and aren't using a natural weapon).

Use spell combat at which point your held charge of shocking grasp is lost at the point you cast a new spell, and you get a free touch attack (if the new spell is a touch attack spell) as part of your attacks. Casting a spell here will provoke if you do not cast defensively.

And you could find a dead thread to raise but couldn't find this? :-0

Dark Archive

bbangerter wrote:

You have round 2 wrong. Since he missed with his touch attack from the previous round he is holding the charge.

Spell combat does not let you make an extra attack with a a held charge. Spell combat ONLY works if you are attacking with your weapon and casting a spell that round.

Round 2 choices are:
...

Make a touch attack with shocking grasp. Does not provoke an AoO.

...

This is where I lose you. According to the SRD (pg. 186) if I attack in a round other than the round I cast the spell, then I provoke an AoO. I am not aware of anything to change that. I'll look more carefully at the other thread.

Dark Archive

Ohhh...
Now I see. On Round 2, if I try to hit with the spell, I am considered armed, I do not provoke, and the only damage I inflict is the spell damage. If I attack as an Unarmed Strike, I am not considered armed, I do provoke an AoO and I can add unarmed strike damage to the Shocking Grasp damage.
If I had Spellstrike (I do not yet) then I could make a normal attack with my weapon and deliver the charge through my weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Spell Combat, AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions