Spring Attack.


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If your use spring attack and you have the pounce ability, do you get all your attacks?


NO. Sping attack is not a charge.


This is true. Spring attack is not a Charge. Pounce allows you to full attack only after a charge.


Nicos wrote:
NO. Sping attack is not a charge.

Leaving out pounce ability if a fighter makes a charge to get the +2 for attack, your telling me that he can't use spring attack feat. Spring attack states that you only have to move 10ft.


Yes. Spring attack is a special full-round action, the same with charge. They are not compatible. You do one or the other bt not both.


If you have pounce, you really shouldn't be bothering with all those feats for Spring Attack. Yeah, it has some uses, but it's REALLY not worth all the feats when you have pounce...


SotS, I believe he wants "pounce-by attack".

Which would be pretty cool, come to think of it.


You'd basically need a way to move as a free, swift, or immediate action. This was very easy to do in 3E with certain splat books, like C.Champion (Travel Devotion), Tome of Battle (varous maneuvers, earliest being Sudden Leap), or MIC (various items, cheapest being Chronocharm of the Horizon Walker or Anklets of Translocation).

Or find a way to pounce as a standard. But the only ways I know of to do that in PF would preclude moving after. One way is to be slowed or staggered and thus limited to standard actions only, then you can utlize the partial charge. But then you lack a move action to move w/ after. There is also the Rhino Rush feat, which lets you ready an action to charge...but that also leaves you with no way to move after.

Incidentally, my current character will have a way to do it...once he gets pounce at level 10... He's a Goblin Beastmorph Vivvisectionist Alchemist. So he'll have pounce at 10. Already he has the very cool Roll With It feat. So if someone melee attacks him, he can try and turn the force into movement. Which is sort of like what you're looking to do. (I assume once he has wings at 6 and can make the fly DC to hover, he can use that feat to propel himself into the air? Man, that'll be cool!)


That's one cool feat! :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spring Attack. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.