MythicFox |
The kitsune Change Shape ability is described as being more or less like alter self, minus the ability score changes and such. Since it doesn't have any sort of per day limit, then that means it can be used at will. But does that mean that if a kitsune wanted to maintain a long-term cover identity as a human, they have to sneak off to a convenient closet/phone booth/elevator to spend a standard action changing back? Or is there any support for an interpretation of just handwaving the duration for playability's sake?
MythicFox |
It is at will.
Right, I'm aware of that. But the point of my question -- and I realize I probably could have made the subject line clearer -- if a kitsune in human form is hanging out with someone long enough, does the shapeshifting wear off (as per alter self) and then they have to spend a standard action to change back, thus possibly disrupting a disguise?
Are |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Unless otherwise stated, creatures with the "change shape" ability can remain in the alternate form indefinitely:
Change Shape (Su) A creature with this special quality has the ability to assume the appearance of a specific creature or type of creature (usually a humanoid), but retains most of its own physical qualities. A creature cannot change shape to a form more than one size category smaller or larger than its original form. This ability functions as a polymorph spell, the type of which is listed in the creature's description, but the creature does not adjust its ability scores (although it gains any other abilities of the creature it mimics). Unless otherwise stated, it can remain in an alternate form indefinitely. Some creatures, such as lycanthropes, can transform into unique forms with special modifiers and abilities. These creatures do adjust their ability scores, as noted in their description.
Format: change shape (wolf, beast form I); Location: SQ, and in special abilities for creatures with a unique listing.
However, from a roleplaying point of view, it would make sense to have it "wear off" after a period of time (as selected by the player).
MythicFox |
Unless otherwise stated, creatures with the "change shape" ability can remain in the alternate form indefinitely:
PRD, Universal Monster Rules wrote:Change Shape (Su) A creature with this special quality has the ability to assume the appearance of a specific creature or type of creature (usually a humanoid), but retains most of its own physical qualities. A creature cannot change shape to a form more than one size category smaller or larger than its original form. This ability functions as a polymorph spell, the type of which is listed in the creature's description, but the creature does not adjust its ability scores (although it gains any other abilities of the creature it mimics). Unless otherwise stated, it can remain in an alternate form indefinitely. Some creatures, such as lycanthropes, can transform into unique forms with special modifiers and abilities. These creatures do adjust their ability scores, as noted in their description.
Format: change shape (wolf, beast form I); Location: SQ, and in special abilities for creatures with a unique listing.
However, from a roleplaying point of view, it would make sense to have it "wear off" after a period of time (as selected by the player).
Thanks, that's the sort of thing I was looking for.