Medium character wielding Small reach weapon


Rules Questions


I was wondering something. If a Medium-sized character wields a two-handed weapon meant for Small-sized character, they use it one-handed (they are at a -2 to hit, I know).

If a Medium character wields a Small reach weapon, does the weapon still grant reach (meaning they can attack 10 feet away, but not adjacent)?


By RAW, yes. Small characters with reach weapons can attack at 10 feet, so small reach weapons allow this. Some GMs, however, may not allow this at their table because it makes little logical sense.


Mauril wrote:
By RAW, yes. Small characters with reach weapons can attack at 10 feet, so small reach weapons allow this. Some GMs, however, may not allow this at their table because it makes little logical sense.

Why? Because you're using a reach weapon in 1 hand? Ever hear of a Lance?

Grand Lodge

If a small creature gets reach, why wouldn't a medium creature? By that logic, a small creature would get extra reach when wielding a medium reach weapon. That would be if the small creature could wield it(which some abilities make it possible).


To think about it another way, if the weapon had other features, such as trip or disarm, they would also work regardless of the creature size using it.

What is strange about this situation is that if a large (tall) creature used a medium sized reach weapon, it would still increase their reach with that weapon to 20' since it doubles reach. That seems more odd, since the same weapon is better in the hands of a large creature than a medium sized one. Longer arms I guess. It does seem odd to have reach available on a one handed weapon, but that is how it seems to work by RAW. Doesn't seem game breaking really, since using a weapon one handed has inherent drawbacks as far as str damage and power attack adds.


Synthesist7 wrote:


What is strange about this situation is that if a large (tall) creature used a medium sized reach weapon, it would still increase their reach with that weapon to 20' since it doubles reach.

Wouldn't it only add 5' reach ( out to 15' ), or am I stuck in 3.5 again? It would at least make sense for a medium reach weapon to increase the large characters reach to only 15'.


I though I remembered an FAQ clarifying that you only gain the benefits of a reach weapon when wielding a weapon properly sized for you, but I looked and can't seem to find that, so you may be right.


Martiln wrote:
Mauril wrote:
By RAW, yes. Small characters with reach weapons can attack at 10 feet, so small reach weapons allow this. Some GMs, however, may not allow this at their table because it makes little logical sense.
Why? Because you're using a reach weapon in 1 hand? Ever hear of a Lance?

When riding a mount, which assumes the proper arret on the armor. Yes, one-handed reach weapons exist, such as the whip. But most people I've talked to find this combination silly. If the weapon is just as long as the medium sized version (grants the same reach) it ought to be just as unwieldy in real life. The rules say otherwise, but some GMs would overrule it.

All I'm saying is make sure it's kosher with you GM before designing an entire character around it. Some GMs play a little faster and looser with RAW than others.

Liberty's Edge

Looking at the explanation of reach weapons in the equipment section, large creatures are required to use a reach weapon of the appropriate size. Generally, I think this rule applies to creatures of all size categories. It's just that both small and medium creatures have an identical threat area while using them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Medium character wielding Small reach weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.